Macaca silensus

lion-maned macaque, lion-tail macaque, wanderoo

Macaca sinica

toque monkey

Macaca sylvanus

Barbary ape

Macaca thibetana

Tibet monkey

Papio sp.


Papio cynocephalus anubis

olive baboon

Papio cynocephalus cynocephalus

yellow baboon

Papio cynocephalus papio

West African baboon, Guinea baboon

Papio cynocephalus ursinus

chacma baboon

Papio hamadryas

hamadryas baboon, sacred baboon

Mandrillus sp.

drill, mandrill

Theropithecus sp.


Cercocebus sp.


Cercocebus torquatus atys

sooty mangabey

Cercopithecus sp.


Cercopithecus aethiops

African green monkey, grivet, vervet

Miopithecus sp.


Erythrocebus sp.

patas monkey, military monkey, hussar monkey, mustached monkey

Allenopithecus sp.

Allen's swamp monkey

COLOBINAE (colobines)


Colobus sp.


Colobus abyssinicus

black and white colobus monkey

Colobus badius

red colobus

Presbytis sp.


Presbytis entellus

hanuman langur, sacred langur

Rhinopithecus sp.

snub-nosed langur

Rhinopithecus roxellana

Chinese golden monkey

Nasalis sp.

proboscis monkey

Nasalis larvatus

proboscis monkey

Simias sp.

Mentawi island langur

Pygathrix sp.

douc langur

The Old World monkeys (cercopithecids) are divided into two subfamilies, the cercopithecines (which have check pouches) and the colobines (leaf-eating monkeys) (Napier and Napier 1967, 1985).

The cercopithecines are represented in Asia and North Africa by one genus (Macaca); the rest are found only in sub-Saharan Africa, except Papio hamadr-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement