Page 95

Ralph E. Gomory is president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. He received his BA from Williams College in 1950, studied at Cambridge University, and received his PhD in mathematics from Princeton University in 1954. He was director of research for the IBM Corporation from 1970-1986, and senior vice president for science and technology from 19861989. He is a member of both the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering. He has been awarded a number of honorary degrees and prizes, including the National Medal of Science.

Thomas D. Larson is a consultant and former administrator of the Federal Highway Administration. He earned his BS, MS, and PhD in civil engineering at Pennsylvania State University. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Public Administration. He served for 8 years as secretary of transportation for Pennsylvania and as a chaired professor at Pennsylvania State University.

Mary Jane Osborn is head of the Microbiology Department at the University of Connecticut Health Center. She received a BA (physiology) from the University of California, Berkeley and a PhD (biochemistry) from the University of Washington. Dr. Osborn is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. Her research focuses on biogenesis of bacterial membranes.

Phillip A. Sharp is Salvador E. Luria Professor in the Center for Cancer Research and head of the Department of Biology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He received a BA (chemistry and mathematics) from Union College, Kentucky, and a PhD (chemistry) from the University of Illinois, Urbana/Champaign. He is a member of both the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine and corecipient of the 1993 Nobel Prize in physiology and medicine.

Kenneth Shine is president of the Institute of Medicine and professor of medicine, emeritus at the University of California at Los Angeles School of Medicine. He is the School of Medicine's immediate past dean and provost for medical sciences. Both a cardiologist and a physiologist, he received his AB from Harvard College and his MD from Harvard Medical School.

Ralph Snyderman is chancellor for health affairs and dean of the School of Medicine at Duke University. Formerly, he was senior vice president for medical research and development at Genentech, Inc. and Frederic M. Hanes Professor of Medicine and Immunology at Duke. In 1991, he was awarded the Ciba Geigy award for lifetime achievement in inflammation research and in 1993, he was awarded the Bonazinga Award for Excellence in leukocyte-biology research. He received his BS degree from Washington College and his MD degree from the SUNY Downstate Medical Center. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement