Page iii


Study on Graduate Education

PHILLIP A. GRIFFITHS (Chairman), Director, Institute for Advanced Study

ROBERT McCORMICK ADAMS, Secretary Emeritus, Smithsonian Institution

BRUCE M. ALBERTS,* President, National Academy of Sciences

ARDEN L. BEMENT, Basil S. Turner Distinguished Professor of Engineering, Purdue University

ELKAN R. BLOUT, Harkness Professor, Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, Harvard Medical School

FELIX E. BROWDER, University Professor, Department of Mathematics, Rutgers University

DAVID R. CHALLONER, Vice President for Health Affairs, University of Florida

ELLIS B. COWLING, University Distinguished Professor At-Large, North Carolina State University

BERNARD N. FIELDS,+ Adele Lehman Professor; Chairman, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Harvard Medical School

ALEXANDER H. FLAX, Senior Fellow, National Academy of Engineering

RALPH E. GOMORY, President, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

THOMAS D. LARSON, Consultant

MARY JANE OSBORN, Head, Department of Microbiology, University of Connecticut Health Center

PHILLIP A. SHARP, Head, Department of Biology, Center for Cancer Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

KENNETH I. SHINE,* President, Institute of Medicine

RALPH SNYDERMAN, Chancellor for Health Affairs; Dean, School of Medicine, Duke University Medical Center

H. GUYFORD STEVER, Trustee and Science Consultant

MORRIS TANENBAUM, Vice President, National Academy of Engineering

ROBERT M. WHITE,* President, National Academy of Engineering

LAWRENCE E. McCRAY, Executive Director

Principal Project Staff
MICHAEL McGEARY, Study Director

DEBORAH D. STINE, Senior Program Officer

ALAN ANDERSON, Consultant/Writer

* Ex officio member.

+ Deceased, February 1, 1995.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement