(AIAA) and the Institute for the Advancement of Engineering (IAE), is a 1984 Rockwell Engineer of the Year, and a recipient of the 1985 Lawrence Sperry Award and the 1991 Dryden Research Lectureship Award from AIAA, the 1985 Outstanding Young Alumnus Award and the 1991 Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering Award from Iowa State University, the 1986 NASA Public Service Medal for exceptional scientific achievement, the 1990 CRAY Gigaflop Performance Award, and the 1992 Distinguished Engineering Achievements Award from IAE. His work in computational electromagnetics (CEM) received the 1993 Computerworld Smithsonian Award in Science. He is an associate editor of the AIAA Journal and a member of the editorial board of the Journalon Computing Systems in Engineering, and he has authored more than 50 publications in the technical literature. Dr. Shankar is also an adjunct professor at the University of California, Davis.

Lakshman S. Tamil received a B.E. degree in electronics and communication engineering from the Madurai Kamaraj University, Madurai, India, in 1981, and a M.Tech. degree in microwave and optical communication engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India, in 1983. He also received a M.S. degree in mathematics and a Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Rhode Island, Kingston, in 1988. Dr. Tamil joined the University of Texas at Dallas in 1988 and is currently an associate professor in electrical engineering there. He is also a member of the Center for Applied Optics at the same university. His research interests include fiber optics, photonic integrated devices and circuits, nonlinear guided wave optics, semiconductor lasers, inverse scattering theory, numerical methods applied to electromagnetic problems and wireless communication. Dr. Tamil is a member of Sigma Xi, the Optical Society of America, and the Electromagnetic Academy, and he is an elected member of Commissions B and D of the International Union of Radio Science.

Richard W. Ziolkowski received a Sc.B. degree in physics magna cum laude with honors from Brown University in 1974 and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in physics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1975 and 1980, respectively. He was a member of the Engineering Research Division at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory from 1981 to 1990 and served as the leader of the Computational Electronics and Electromagnetics Thrust Area for the Engineering Directorate from 1984 to 1990. Dr. Ziolkowski joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Arizona as an associate professor in 1990. His research interests include the application of new mathematical and numerical methods to linear and nonlinear problems dealing with the interaction of acoustic and electromagnetic waves with realistic materials and structures. Dr. Ziolkowski is a member of Tau Beta Pi, Sigma Xi, Phi Kappa Phi, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the American Physical Society, the Optical Society of America, the Acoustical Society of America, and Commission B (Fields and Waves) of the International Union of Radio Science (URSI). He is an IEEE fellow and an associate editor for the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation. He served as the vice chairman of the 1989 IEEE/AP-S and URSI symposium in San Jose. He is currently serving as the secretary of the United States' URSI Commission B and as a member of that commission's Technical Activities Committee. He was awarded the Tau Beta Pi Professor of the Year Award and the IEEE and Eta Kappa Nu Outstanding Teaching Award in 1993.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement