Click for next page ( 120

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 119
Appendix D: Biographical Sketches of Committee Members WOLFGANG J. CHOYKE has been a professor in the Department of Physics at the University of Pittsburgh since 1988. He spent the previous 36 years at the Westinghouse Research Laboratories. He received a B.Sc. and a Ph.D. from Ohio State University. MICHAEL G. ADLERSTEIN is a principal scientist at the Raytheon Research Division. He received a B.S. and an M.S. from the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn and a Ph.D. in applied physics from Harvard University. JEROME J. CUOMO has been a professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at North Carolina State University since 1993. He was previously senior manager at IBM's Materials Laboratory Center for Science and Services. He received a B.S. from Manhattan College, an M.S. in physical chemistry from St. Johns University, and a Ph.D. in physics from Odense University in Denmark. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. ARTHUR G. FOYT, Jet., is manager of Electronics Research at the United Technologies Research Center. He received a B.S., an M.S., and a Sc.D. in electrical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. EVELYN L. HU is professor and chair of the Deparment of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of California, Santa Barbara. She received a 119 B.A. from Barnard College and an M.A. and a Ph.D. in physics from Columbia University. LIONEL C. KIMERLING has been a professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology since 1991. He spent the previous 10 years as head of the Materials Physics Research Department at Bell Laboratories. He received an S.B. and a Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is also a member of the National Materials Advisory Board. MARK R. PINTO is department head of ULSI at AT&T Bell Laboratories. He received a B.S. in electrical engineering and computer science from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and an M.S. and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Stanford University. MICHAEL A. TAMOR is staff scientist in the physics department and group leader of the Diamond Film Project at Ford Motor Company. He received a B.S. from the University of California, Los Angeles, and an M.S. and a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Illinois, Urbana. IWONA TURLIK is vice-president and director of Motorola's Corporate Manufacturing Research Center. She received an M.S. in electrical engineering and a Ph.D. in technical sciences from the Technical University of Wroclaw, Poland.

OCR for page 119