Henry S. Marcus is professor of marine systems and is the NAVSEA Professor of Ship Acquisition in the Ocean Engineering Department and chairman, Ocean Systems Management Program, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was a visiting professor at the School of Travel Industry Management of the University of Hawaii at Manoa. He also serves as a transportation consultant to maritime industries and government. His research interests include ocean system logistics and marine environmental protection. Dr. Marcus is a former member of the Marine Board. He was a member of the National Research Council's Maritime Transportation Research Board during the late 1970s. More recently, he has served as a member of the Marine Board's Committee on Productivity of Marine Terminals and the Committee on Control and Recovery of Hydrocarbon Vapors from Ships and Barges, and he served as chairman of the recent assessment of tank vessel design alternatives. Dr. Marcus holds a B.S. degree in naval architecture from Webb Institute, two M.S. degrees from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (one in naval architecture and the other in shipping and shipbuilding management), and a D.B.A. degree from Harvard University.

T. Francis Ogilvie is a professor at and formerly head of the Department of Ocean Engineering of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Previous employment includes the University of Michigan, where he was chairman of the Department of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering, and the David Taylor Model Basin, where he was head of the Seaworthiness and Fluid Dynamics Division. He is a member of numerous professional societies, including the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers, of which he is a fellow and recipient of the William H. Webb Medal, and the Society of Naval Architects of Japan. His service to organizations include the U.S. Coast Guard Academy Advisory Committee, and several committees of the National Academy of Sciences. Dr. Ogilvie received a B.A. from Cornell University, an M.S. from the University of Maryland, and a Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley.

Irene C. Peden, NAE, is a retired professor of electrical engineering at the University of Washington, Seattle, where she has also served terms as associate dean of the College of Engineering and as associate chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering. She recently completed service as director of the Division of Electrical and Communications Systems at the National Science Foundation. She is a member of several professional societies, including the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for which she is a fellow, and has served as vice president for educational activities, member of the Board of Directors and Executive Committee, Fellows Committee, Awards Board, and Editorial Board of the Proceedings of the IEEE. She is a member of the Engineering Development Council of the University of Colorado at Denver, the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Advisory Board of the University of California at Santa Barbara, the Board of Visitors of the School of Engineering

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement