staff at the Center for Creative Leadership in Greensboro, North Carolina, on March 21-23, 1995. The subcommittee was joined by Jerome Singer, Harold Van Cott, and Daniel Druckman at this site visit.

Interorganizational Relations

W. Warner Burke and Nicole W. Biggart constituted this subcommittee. William E. Siegal of Columbia University assisted in the preparation of the draft chapter on interorganizational relations. Subcommittee members attended the annual meeting of the Association of Researchers in Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action at Berkeley Marina, California, on October 21-22, 1994, and held a conference call discussion about joint service and multilateral operations with Colonel Joseph Tyo of the Army War College at Carlisle Barracks, Pennsylvania. In addition, Jerome Singer and Daniel Druckman were briefed on interorganizational coordination issues by Michael Austin at the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) on December 22, 1995. This meeting was the basis for a conference call discussion between the subcommittee and Michael Austin's staff at FEMA on March 24, 1995.

Conflict Management

Paul F. Diehl, Daniel Druckman, and James A. Wall constituted this subcommittee. It was briefed on international peacekeeping issues on a visit to the International Peace Academy hosted by Lt. Colonel Stephen Moffat and at the United Nations arranged by Juergen Dedring and Chris Coleman on August 29, 1994. Briefings on peacekeeping missions were also arranged for the subcommittee by Lt. Colonel Murray Swan and Major David Last at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, on October 12, 1994. In addition, the subcommittee held conference call discussions on December 21, 1994, with Jim Thomas of Cooper Management, Inc., of McLean, Virginia, on negotiation training and on January 23, 1995, with Professor Morton Deutsch of Columbia University on approaches to conflict management training.

Military Organization Characteristics

Jerome E. Singer and Myrna H. Williamson constituted this subcommittee. It received valuable information in interviews with Robert J.T. Joy, Craig H. Llewellyn, and Michael Drillings.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement