John L. VandeBerg (Chairman),

Southwest Foundation for Biomedical Research, San Antonio, Texas

Christian R. Abee,

University of South Alabama, Mobile, Alabama

J. Derrell Clark,

University of Georgia, College of Veterinary Medicine, Athens, Georgia

Muriel T. Davisson,

The Jackson Laboratory, Bar Harbor, Maine

Bennett Dyke,

Southwest Foundation for Biomedical Research, San Antonio, Texas

Neal L. First,

University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin

James W. Glosser,

Massillon, Ohio

John P. Hearn,

Wisconsin Regional Primate Research Center, Madison

Margaret S. Landi,

SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceuticals, King of Prussia, Pennsylvania

Gail Martin,

University of California, San Francisco, California

Charles R. McCarthy,

Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

Robert J. Russell,

Harlan Sprague Dawley, Frederick, Maryland

Richard C. Van Sluyters,

University of California, Berkeley, California

John G. Vandenbergh,

North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina

Peter A. Ward,

University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Thomas D. Pollard,

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland

(ex officio member)


Eric A. Fischer, Director

Thomas L. Wolfie, Program Director

Mara L. Glenshaw, Research Assistant

Carol M. Rozmiarek, Project Assistant

The Institute of Laboratory Animal Resources (ILAR) was founded in 1952 under the auspices of the National Research Council. A component of the Commission on Life Sciences, ILAR develops guidelines and disseminates information on the scientific, technological, and ethical use of animals and related biological resources in research, testing, and education. ILAR promotes high-quality, humane care of animals and the appropriate use of animals and alternatives. ILAR functions within the mission of the National Academy of Sciences as an advisor to the federal government, the biomedical research community, and the public.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement