Click for next page ( 188

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 187
Appendix B Acknowledgments The preparation of a report such as this one takes input from many people. The committee wishes to extend its sincere appreciation to all the people who shared their time and expertise with us during the study process. This includes the many people who participated in our information-gathering workshop, joined us at meetings in different regions, led us on field trips, helped with our research, and contributed to our study in other ways. In particular, we would like to thank the following people for their contributions: Gail Achterman, Stool, Rives, Boley, Jones & Grey, Portland, Oregon Gene Andreuccetti, Soil Conservation Service, Washington, D.C. Michael Armstrong, Arkansas Game and Fish Commission, Little Rock, Arkansas Mark Bennett, Arkansas Soil and Water Conservation Commission, Little Rock, Arkansas Reed Benson, Oregon Water Watch, Portland, Oregon Bob Bevis, farmer, Scott, Arizona Jan Boettcher, Oregon Water Resources Congress, Salem, Oregon Jerry Butchert, Westlands Water District, Fresno, California Joe Carmack, Soil Conservation Service, Washington, D.C. Ken Carver, High Plains Underground Water Conservation District No. 1, Lubbock, Texas Manzoor E. Chowdhury, Texas A&M University, College Station Job Cofer, Taylor Fulton, Inc., Palmetto, Florida Dan Daley, Bonneville Power Administration, Portland, Oregon 187

OCR for page 187
188 APPENDIX B Al Dedrick, U.S. Water Conservation Laboratory, Phoenix, Arizona Thomas Donnelly, National Water Resources Association, Arlington, Virginia Cindy Dyballa, U.S. Department of Environmental Protection, Washington, D.C. Keith Eggleston, Bureau of Reclamation, Denver, Colorado Tom Former, Soil Conservation Service, Lonoke, Arkansas Nicky Hargrove, farmer, Stuttgart, Arkansas Becky Hiers, Umatilla Tribes, Pendleton, Oregon Peter G. Hubbell, Southwest Florida Water Management District, Brooksville, Florida Michael Jackson, U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, Washington, D.C. Marvin Jensen, consultant, Ft. Collins, Colorado Stan Jensen, Pioneer Hibred International, Inc., York, Nebraska Thomas H. Kimmell, The Irrigation Association, Fairfax, Virginia Frances Korten, The Ford Foundation, New York, New York Steve Kresovich, USDA Research Leader for Genetic Resources, Griffin, Georgia Susanne Leckbank, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Phoenix, Arizona Steve Light, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, St. Paul, Minnesota Ronald B. Linsky, National Water Research Institute Jacke Looney, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville Curtis Lynn, consultant, Visalia, California Derrel Martin, University of Nebraska, Lincoln J. William McDonald, Bureau of Reclamation, Denver, Colorado Lauren McDonald, White River Valley Association, Newport, Arkansas Clifton Meador, Arkansas Development Finance Authority, Little Rock, Arkansas Furman Peebles, Pine City Farms, Rochelle, Georgia Dean Pennington, Yazoo Mississippi Delta Joint Water Management District, Cleveland, Mississippi Richard Pinkham, Rocky Mountain Institute, Snowmass, Colorado Charlie Pintler, farmer, Nampa, Idaho Pepper Putman, The Irrigation Association, Fairfax, Virginia Bob Reuter, Westlands Irrigation District, Hermiston, Oregon Ardell Ruiz, Intertribal Agriculture Council, Sacaton, Arizona Anil Rupasinghe, Texas A&M University, College Station Eduardo Segarra, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas Bill Shepard, rancher, Fallon, Nevada Earl Smith, Arkansas Soil and Water Conservation Commission, Little Rock, Arkansas G. Stephen Smith, Sullivan & Associates, Lonoke, Arkansas Randall Stocker, Imperial Irrigation District, Imperial, California Gene Sullivan, Sullivan & Associates, Lonoke, Arkansas Raymond Supalla, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

OCR for page 187
APPENDIX B 189 A. Dan Tarlock, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago-Kent College of Law, Chicago Jan van Schilfgaarde, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Beltsville, Maryland E.D. "Sonny" Vergara, Peace River/Manasota Regional Water Supply Authority, Bradenton, Florida John Volkman, Northwest Power Planning Council, Portland, Oregon Lori H. Walton, White River Regional Irrigation District, Stuttgart, Arkansas Darrell Watts, University of Nebraska, Lincoln Paul Westerfield, U.S. Geological Survey, Little Rock, Arkansas Eric Wilkinson, Northern Colorado Water Conservancy District, Loveland, Colorado Stuart Woolf, Woolf Enterprises, Huron, California Randy Young, Arkansas Soil and Water Conservation Commission, Little Rock, Arkansas David Zilberman, University of California, Berkeley