Committee Biographies

Jonathan M. Samet, M.D., M.S., (Chairman), is presently professor and chairman of the Department of Epidemiology of the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health. Dr. Samet received a Bachelor's degree in Chemistry and Physics from Harvard College, an M.D. degree from the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, and a Master of Science in epidemiology from the Harvard School of Public Health. He is trained as a clinician in the specialty of internal medicine and in the subspecialty of pulmonary diseases. From 1978 through 1994, he was a member of the Department of Medicine at The University of New Mexico School of Medicine and he is presently co-director of the Risk Sciences and Public Policy Institute at the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health. His research has addressed the effects of environmental agents on human health, including risks of lung-cancer and other diseases in uranium miners. He was a member of the BEIR IV Committee and chair of the Panel on Dosimetric Assumptions Affecting the Application of Radon Risk Estimates of the National Research Council. He has served on the Science Advisory Board for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. He has been a member of the Commission on Life Sciences and the Board on Radiation Effects Research and was elected to the Institute of Medicine in 1997.

David Brenner, Ph.D., is a professor of Radiation Oncology and Public Health at Columbia University, New York. He earned a M.Sc. from St. Bartholomews' Hospital, University of London, in Radiation Physics, a Ph.D. from the University of Surrey in Physics, and has been awarded an honorary D.Sc. degree by Oxford University. He is a radiation biophysicist focusing on mechanisms of

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement