invited to present suggestions regarding the problem. Other information-gathering meetings were held in which scientists with specific expertise were invited to discuss the results of their work. Several workshops were held in which the committee focused on particular aspects of the radon problem. The committee is grateful to participants in a January 1996 workshop, in which over 30 scientists discussed findings of work relevant to the shape of the dose-response curve at low doses of radiation with densely deposited energy applicable to the alpha particles emitted by radon and its progeny. The results of that workshop, which was sponsored by the Department of Energy's Office of Health and Environmental Research, were useful to the committee in selecting a risk-assessment model.

The committee is appreciative to the many scientists who contributed directly or indirectly to the work of the BEIR VI committee. Seven persons and groups deserve special recognition and thanks. First, the committee is indebted to the principal investigators (PIs) and other scientists who directed and analyzed the various cohort studies of miners and the case-control studies of lung-cancer and radiation in the general population. Those scientists willingly and graciously provided their data to the committee and enabled the committee to apply analytical techniques to original data in order to derive its models and its risk estimates. For the miner studies, the scientists included Shu-Xiang Yao, Xiang-Zhen Xuan, and Jay H. Lubin (Chinese tin miners), Emil Kunz and Ladislav Tomásek (Czechoslovakian, now the Czech Republic, Uranium miners), Geoffrey Howe (Beaver-lodge, Canada and Port Radium, Canada uranium miners), Howard I. Morrison (Newfoundland, Canada fluorspar miners), Robert A. Kusiak and Jan Muller (Ontario, Canada uranium miners), Margot Tirmarche (French uranium miners), Alistair Woodward (South Australian uranium miners), Edward P. Radford and Christer Edling (Swedish iron miners), Richard W. Hornung (Colorado, U.S.A. uranium miners), and Jonathan M. Samet (New Mexico, U.S.A. uranium miners).

Second, the committee sponsored a workshop on exposures of miners to radon progeny. The following persons, knowledgeable about the history of the mining industry with experience in geology or mine and ventilation engineering, were invited to the workshop and made contributions that were much appreciated: William Chenoweth, James Cleveland, Andreas George, and Douglas Chambers. During the workshop, Daniel Stram and Duncan Thomas provided advice to the committee regarding quantification of the measurement errors associated with the mine exposures.

Third, the committee expresses its thanks to Anthony James, who provided computational analyses of doses to lung cells resulting from radon and its progeny.

Fourth, the committee thanks Susan Rose of the Department of Energy for inviting the BEIR VI chair and study director to participate in meetings of the PIs of the case-control studies in Europe and North America in which plans for pooling of data and joint analyses were discussed.

Fifth, three scientists from Health Canada provided valuable computational analyses and assisted committee members in the development and application of

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement