Anthony J. DeMaria is chairman and president of DcMaria Electrooptics Systems, Inc. and a research professor at the University of Connecticut Photonics Research Center. His previous experience includes the positions of assistant director of research for electronics and photonic technologies, and acting assistant director of research for information systems and technology, at United Technologies. His expertise in applied and laser physics includes experience in utilization of laser devices, interaction of elastic waves with coherent light radiation, gas laser research and applications, and acoustic-and electrooptics. He served on the 1990 NRC review of the ICF program, and on the DOE ICFAC. He is a fellow of the IEEE, and past editor of the IEEE Journal of Quantum Electronics, a fellow and past president of the Optical Society of America, and a fellow of the American Physical Society. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Paul E. Dimotakis is the John K. Northrop Professor of Aeronautics and a professor of applied physics at the California Institute of Technology. His research focuses on investigations of turbulent-flow phenomena, with an emphasis on turbulent transport and mixing in liquid-and gas-phase, chemically reacting as well as nonreacting flows, and combustion. He has consulted for the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in the area of turbulence and turbulent mixing and has participated in experiments at the NOVA laser facility at Lawrence Livermore. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Jack J. Dongarra holds a joint appointment as Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at the University of Tennessee and as Distinguished Scientist in the Mathematical Sciences Section at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He was formerly the scientific director of the Advanced Computational Research Facility at Argonne National Laboratory. His expertise includes numerical algorithms in linear algebra, parallel computing, use of advanced computer architectures, programming methodology, tools for parallel computers, and high-quality mathematical software. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Roger W. Falcone is professor and chair of the Department of Physics at the University of California at Berkeley. His recent research includes topics in laser interaction with solids, gases, and plasmas; atomic physics; and x-ray scattering. Dr. Falcone has served on numerous scientific advisory committees, including several for the National Science Foundation involving a science and technology center, the LIGO project at MIT and Caltech, and a visiting committee at NSF; a review committee for the Max Planck Institute in Garching; and advisory committees for Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. He has served on numerous national and international advisory committees for scientific societies. Throughout his career he has consulted for several laser and electrooptics companies and has consulted with Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in the areas of laser interaction with matter and other areas of physics in the laser and physics divisions. He has received partial support from DOE for several research projects at Berkeley through LLNL. He is a recipient of an NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award and is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America.

Hermann A. Grunder is the director of the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility, the DOE's newest laboratory for nuclear physics research in Newport News, Virginia. Before coming to Jefferson Laboratory in May 1985, he served as deputy director of general sciences at Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory. Experienced in the design, construction, and operation of accelerators and neutral beam injectors, Dr. Grunder has also managed large facilities through construction and operations. Dr. Grunder is a fellow of the American Physical Society, is division councilor of the Division of Physics of Beams, and has served on a number of professional and review committees such as the DOE Joint Coordinating Committee on the Fundamental Properties of Matter, the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider Policy Committee, and the National Institute of Standards and Technology Panel for Radiation Research.

Henry W. Kendall is the J.A. Stratton Professor of Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is recognized for his research in high-energy physics, including high-energy

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement