Course Assignments
Death Awareness Exercise
  • First patient visit: Introduction and discussion of patient's current status, how he or she learned about his or her illness, and his or her feelings about his or her current medical situation.
  • Second patient visit with special attention to pain and symptom control issues.
  • Third patient visit: Focus on cultural issues and desires for care at the end of life.
  • Fourth patient visit: Focus on religious and spiritual issues.
  • Complete a personal advance directive.
  • Fifth patient visit: Spiritual assessment.
  • Sixth patient visit: As a volunteer, helping with some aspect of patient's care, saying goodbye.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement