Dale B.Atkinson is a consultant on survivability issues. For 34 years, he worked for the U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) and was one of the founders of the aircraft survivability discipline. He retired from the Office of the Secretary of Defense in 1992. Before working on aircraft survivability, he was involved in some of the first attempts by the U.S. Air Force to protect spacecraft from meteoroids. He is an associate fellow of the AIAA and the recipient of the first AIAA Survivability Award. Mr. Atkinson holds degrees in aeronautical engineering and national resources from the University of Kansas and George Washington University.

Dale R.Atkinson is chief executive officer of POD Associates, Inc., which specializes in impact physics analyses and impact survivability and safety for spacecraft, aircraft, vehicles, and ships. Mr. Atkinson has worked on various aspects of modeling, analyzing, and monitoring the meteoroid and debris environments, their effects on systems, and potential mitigation techniques. He has also worked on analyzing the results from the Long-Duration Exposure Facility (LDEF) spacecraft, advised the White House National Space Council on orbital debris from 1991 to 1993, was the Ballistic Missile Defense Organization’s expert on orbital debris and micrometeoroid survivability technologies, and served as a member of the National Research Council (NRC) Committee on Space Debris and the Committee on Space Station Meteoroid/Debris Risk Management. Mr. Atkinson holds degrees in aerospace engineering from the University of Arizona.

G.Taft DeVere is an analyst at the Space Warfare Center. Until January 1997, he was a member of the technical staff at SenCom Corporation, where he was technical lead for U.S. Department of Defense orbital debris data collection campaigns. Previously, Mr. DeVere worked at Teledyne Brown Engineering and Nichols Research Corporation, where he led studies of the Space Surveillance Network’s sensors, command center, and debris analysis. Before that, he was a captain in the U.S. Air Force and worked on a wide variety of space observation and analysis activities. He holds degrees in physics and space operations from the University of Massachusetts and from Webster University.

Donald H.Emero is a retired vice president of Rockwell’s Space Systems Division. Mr. Emero held a variety of positions in the space shuttle program and was the chief engineer for space shuttle orbiter production and operations from 1989 to 1993. In this position, he headed numerous teams to resolve complex problems with the shuttle. Mr. Emero has been awarded the NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal and the National Management Association’s Gold Knight of Management, and he is an associate fellow of the AIAA. Mr. Emero holds two degrees in civil engineering from the University of Massachusetts.

George J.Gleghorn is a retired vice president and chief engineer of TRW’s Space and Technology Group. He was the chair of the NRC Committee on Space

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement