Debris and the Committee on Space Station Meteoroid/Debris Risk Management. He is also a member of NASA’s Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel. Dr. Gleghorn is a fellow of the AIAA and was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for his “contributions to the development of advanced scientific and communications spacecraft and the technology of spacecraft systems engineering.” He holds degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Colorado and the California Institute of Technology.

Darren S.McKnight is vice president of Titan Research and Technology. He has co-authored two books and written more than 40 technical articles on orbital debris and was the founder and editor of a newsletter, the Orbital Debris Monitor. Dr. McKnight previously worked at Logicon RDA and Kaman Sciences Corporation on kinetic energy weapons lethality, simulation, orbital debris, and space environmental effects. Before that, he was a professor of physics at the Air Force Academy. Dr. McKnight holds degrees in engineering from the University of New Mexico, the Air Force Academy, and the University of Colorado.

William P.Schonberg is professor and chair of the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at the University of Alabama in Huntsville. Dr. Schonberg has published more than 30 journal articles and has presented more than 35 papers on shock physics, hypervelocity impacts, and penetration mechanics. The results of his research have been applied to a wide variety of engineering problems, most notably the development of orbital debris protection systems for spacecraft—including the International Space Station—in low Earth orbit. Dr. Schonberg holds degrees in civil engineering from Princeton University and Northwestern University.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement