Technology Selection Status

Peter Rosenfeld (Chrysler)

Ross Witschonke (Ford)

Ron York (GM)

Linda Lance, Office of the Vice President of the United States

Pandit Patil (U.S. Department of Energy), Vice Chair, PNGV Government Technology Team

Review of Significant Progress and Major Barriers Compared to PNGV Milestones and Future Plans:

Systems Analysis and Engineering

Mutasim Salman (GM), PNGV-USCAR Systems Analysis Technical Team

Body-in-White/Vehicle Weight Reduction

Andy Sherman (Ford), PNGV-USCAR Materials Technology Team

Bill Stuef (Ford) PNGV-USCAR Vehicle Engineering Technical Team

Four Stroke Direct Injection Engines

Rich Belaire (Ford), PNGV-USCAR Four Stroke Direct Injection Technical Team


Tom Kiser (Chrysler), PNGV-USCAR Flywheel Technical Team


Committee Subgroup Visit to the Chrysler Liberty and Technical Affairs Facility for briefing on proprietary concept vehicle technology, November 10 and 14, 1997, Auburn Hills, Michigan


Discussions and presentations on the Chrysler Prowler, CCV, HEV, fuel cells, and technology integration. Attendees from Chrysler included: C.N. Ashtiani, C.E. Burroni-Bird, R.L. Davis, S. Dinda, R.C. Fielding, G.M. Heidecker, T.S. Moore, P.M. Rosenfeld, L.E. Rybacki, and S.T. Speth.


Committee Meeting, December 3–5, 1997, The Savoy Suites, Washington, D.C.


The following presentations were made to the committee:

Role of the Government after the Technology Selection Process

Gary Bachula, Acting Under Secretary for Technology Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce

George Joy, Chair PNGV Government Technology Team, U.S. Department of Commerce

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement