Space Studies Board, the Committee on Advanced Technology for Human Support in Space, and the Steering Committee for the Workshop on Reducing Space Science Research Mission Cost. Dr. Bagian holds numerous honors and awards, including the NASA Space Flight Award, the NASA Exceptional Service Medal, the Society of NASA Flight Surgeons W. Randolf Lovelace Award, and the American Astronautical Society's Melbourne W. Boynton Award. Dr. Bagian is a member of the Aerospace Medicine Association, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Society of NASA Flight Surgeons, Phi Kappa Phi, Phi Eta Sigma, Pi Tau Sigma, Tau Beta Pi, and Alpha Omega Alpha. Dr. Bagian received a B.S. degree in mechanical engineering from Drexel University and an M.D. degree from Thomas Jefferson University.

Rita R. Colwell is president and co-founder of the University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute and a professor of microbiology at the University of Maryland. She is an internationally recognized expert in marine biotechnology, marine and estuarine microbial molecular ecology, microbial systematics, marine microbiology, and temperature and high-pressure effects on marine bacteria. Dr. Colwell serves on numerous government boards and committees and has been appointed to the National Science Board. She has authored or co-authored more than 500 professional publications. Dr. Colwell served on the Polar Research Board and is currently a member of several NRC committees, including the Committee on Opportunities for Advancement of Marine Biotechnology in the United States, the Committee on the Second Forum on Biodiversity, and the Roundtable on Research and Development of Drugs, Biologics, and Medical Devices. She is a former president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Society of Microbiology. She received a B.S. degree (with distinction) and an M.S. degree from Purdue University and a Ph.D. degree from the University of Washington. Dr. Colwell has an honorary D.Sc. from Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, Scotland, and is an honorary professor at the University of Queensland in Queensland, Australia.

Bruce Dunn is a professor in the Department of Material Sciences at the University of California at Los Angeles. Dr. Dunn is a nationally recognized expert in ceramics engineering and thermodynamics and material properties. Previously he was a staff scientist in the Research and Development Center for the General Electric Company. His research interests include electrical and optical properties of inorganic materials, transport and optical properties of solid electrolytes, synthesis of tunable lasers and other materials by sol-gel methods, and infrared transmitting solids. Dr. Dunn is a member of the American Ceramic Society, the Electrochemical Society, the Material Research Society, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Dunn received a B.S. degree from Rutgers University and a Ph.D. degree from the University of California at Los Angeles.

Donald R. Humphrey is a professor of physiology and director of the Neurophysiology Laboratory in the School of Medicine at Emory University. Dr. Humphrey 's specialty is neurophysiology and neuroanatomy. His research interests include cerebral cortical mechanisms in the control of movement and posture and neuromuscular control systems. He is a consultant for the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Humphrey is a recipient of the Hans Berger Research

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement