Appendix C
Workshop Participants

Prudence Adler

Association of Research Libraries

Suite 800

21 Dupont Circle, N.W.

Washington, DC 20036

Ph: (202) 296-2296

E-mail: prue@arl.org


Ghassem Asrar

Office of Earth Sciences

NASA Headquarters

Code Y

Washington, DC 20546

Ph: (202) 358-2165

E-mail: gasrar@mail.hq.nasa.gov


Gerald Barton

NOAA/NESDIS

SSMC3, Room 15448

1315 East-West Highway

Silver Spring, MD

Ph: (301) 713-0572

E-mail: barton@esdim.noaa.gov


Richard Borgen

Jet Propulsion Laboratory

California Institute of Technology

4800 Oak Grove Drive, MS 238-638

Pasadena, CA 91109-8099

Ph: (818) 393-7958

E-mail: rlborgen@davvax.jpl.nasa.gov


Francis P. Bretherton

Space Science and Engineering Center

University of Wisconsin

1225 West Dayton Street

Madison, WI 53706

Ph: (608) 262-7493

E-mail: fbretherton@ssec.wisc.edu


Irving Buck

National Imagery and Mapping Agency

4600 Sangamore Road

Bethesda, MD 20816-5003

Ph: (703) 275-8565

E-mail: bucki@nima.mil



The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement



Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 39
--> Appendix C Workshop Participants Prudence Adler Association of Research Libraries Suite 800 21 Dupont Circle, N.W. Washington, DC 20036 Ph: (202) 296-2296 E-mail: prue@arl.org Ghassem Asrar Office of Earth Sciences NASA Headquarters Code Y Washington, DC 20546 Ph: (202) 358-2165 E-mail: gasrar@mail.hq.nasa.gov Gerald Barton NOAA/NESDIS SSMC3, Room 15448 1315 East-West Highway Silver Spring, MD Ph: (301) 713-0572 E-mail: barton@esdim.noaa.gov Richard Borgen Jet Propulsion Laboratory California Institute of Technology 4800 Oak Grove Drive, MS 238-638 Pasadena, CA 91109-8099 Ph: (818) 393-7958 E-mail: rlborgen@davvax.jpl.nasa.gov Francis P. Bretherton Space Science and Engineering Center University of Wisconsin 1225 West Dayton Street Madison, WI 53706 Ph: (608) 262-7493 E-mail: fbretherton@ssec.wisc.edu Irving Buck National Imagery and Mapping Agency 4600 Sangamore Road Bethesda, MD 20816-5003 Ph: (703) 275-8565 E-mail: bucki@nima.mil

OCR for page 39
--> Thomas E. Burk Department of Forestry Resources University of Minnesota Green Hall, Room 115 1530 North Cleveland St Paul, MN 55108 Ph: (612) 624-6741 E-mail: tburk@forestry.umn.edu Howard Burrows Raytheon STX 7701 Greenbelt Road #400 Greenbelt, MD 20770 Ph: (301) 441-4316 E-mail: hburrows@stx.com Rendu Chaudhry Ecologic Corporation 19 Eye Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20001 Ph: (202) 218-4100 E-mail: renu@ecologic.net Mary Cleave NASA Goddard Space Flight Center/9702 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301) 286-1404 E-mail: mary@seawifs.gsfc.nasa.gov Donald J. Collins Physical Oceanography DAAC Jet Propulsion Laboratory Mail Stop 300-323 4800 Oak Grove Drive Pasadena, CA 91109 Ph: (818) 354-3473 E-mail: djc@seaanchor.jpl.nasa.gov Robert W. Corell Assistant Director, Geosciences National Science Foundation 4201 Wilson Boulevard Arlington, VA 22230 Ph: (703) 306-1500 E-mail: rcorell@nsf.gov Peter C. Cornillon Department of Oceanography University of Rhode Island Narragansett, RI 02882 Ph: (401) 874-6283 E-mail: pcornillon@gso-uri.edu Charles J. Dale Defense Partnership and Corporation DPAO Division NATO Headquarters 1110 Brussels, Belgium Ph: 011-322-707-3542 E-mail: charles.dale@ontonet.be Gary Darling California Resources Agency 900 North Street, Suite 250 Sacramento, CA 95814 Ph: (916) 653-4279 E-mail: gary@ceres.ca.gov Kenneth D. Davidson National Climatic Data Center NOAA 151 Patton Avenue Asheville, NC 28801 Ph: (704) 271-4476 E-mail: kdavidson@ncdc.noaa.gov John de Ferrari U.S. General Accounting Office 441 G Street, N.W., Room 4T21 Washington, DC 20548 Ph: (202) 512-6335 E-mail: defarrarij.aimd@gao.gov Adele Demko Planet Earth Science, Inc. 2656 Montrose Place Santa Barbara, CA 93105 Ph: (805) 565-1953 E-mail: demko@west.net

OCR for page 39
--> Anthony R. de Souza Board on Earth Sciences and Resources National Research Council, HA 372 2101 Constitution Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20418 Ph: (202) 334-2744 E-mail: adesouza@nas.edu John A. Dutton College of Earth and Mineral Sciences Pennsylvania State University 116 Dieke Building University Park, PA 16802 Ph: (814) 865-6546 E-mail: j2d@psu.edu H. Frank Eden Board on Atmospheric Sciences and Climate National Research Council, HA 370 2101 Constitution Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20418 Ph: (202) 334-2517 E-mail: feden@nas.edu David C. Etter President Bay Area Shared Information Consortium 1931 Old Middlefield Way, Suite H Mountain View, CA 94043-2557 Ph: (650) 528-4099 E-mail: detter@basic.org Irwin Feller Institute for Policy Research and Evaluation Pennsylvania State University N250 Burrowes Building University Park, PA 16802 Ph: (814) 865-9561 E-mail: igf@psu.edu James Frew School of Environmental Science and Management University of California Santa Barbara, CA 93106 Ph: (805) 893 7356 E-mail: frew@bren.ucsb.edu Joanne Irene Gabrynowicz Center for Aerospace Sciences University of North Dakota Clifford Hall Grand Forks, ND 58202-9008 Ph: (701) 777-3558 E-mail: gabrynow@aeno.und.edu Tom George Alaska SAR Facility Geophysical Institute, University of Alaska 903 Koyukuk Drive P.O. Box 757320 Fairbanks, AK 99775-7320 Ph: (907) 474-7621 E-mail: tgeorge@gi.alaska.edu Amy K. Glasmeier Department of Geography The Pennsylvania State University 302 Walker Building University Park, PA 16802 Ph: (814) 865-7323 E-mail: akgl@ems.psu.edu David M. Glover Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Woods Hole, MA 02543-1541 Ph: (508) 289-2656 E-mail: dglover@whoi.edu Michael Goodman The Global Hydrology Climate Center 977 Explorer Boulevard Mail Stop: HR01 Huntsville, AL 35806 Ph: (205) 922-5890 E-mail: michael.goodman@msfc.nasa.gov Sam J. Graves Information Technology and Systems Center University of Alabama in Huntsville Huntsville, AL 35899 Ph: (205) 890-6064 E-mail: sgraves@cs.uah.edu

OCR for page 39
--> Vanessa Griffin NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Code 170 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301) 286-0014 E-mail: vanessa.griffin@gsfc.nasa.gov Richard C. Hart Board on Earth Sciences and Resources National Research Council 2101 Constitution Avenue, N.W., HA 372 Washington, DC 20418 Ph: (202) 334-2744 E-mail: rhartl@erols.com Robert Heming Chevron Petroleum Technology Company P.O. Box 42832 Houston, TX 77242-2832 Ph: (281) 596-2012 E-mail: rhem@chevron.com Susan Hoban NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Code 930.5 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301) 286-7980 E-mail: susan.hoban@gsfc.nasa.gov Michelle Holm National Snow & Ice Data Center DAAC CIRES Campus Box 449 University of Colorado Boulder, CO 80309-0449 Ph: (303) 492-1834 E-mail: mholm@kryos.colorado.edu Tony Janetos NASA Headquarters Code YS Washington, DC 20546 Ph: (202) 358-0276 E-mail: anthony.janetos@hq.nasa.gov Richard G. Johnson Bay Area Shared Information Consortium 1931 Old Middlefield Way, Suite H Mountain View, CA 94043-2557 Ph: (650) 604-0846 E-mail: rjohnson@riacs.edu Elizabeth Johnston U.S. General Accounting Office 441 G Street, N.W., Room 4T21 Washington, DC 20548 Ph: (202) 512-6345 E-mail: johnstone.aimd@gao.gov David F. Jones Weather Department WRC-TV4 4001 Nebraska Avenue Washington, DC 20016 Ph: (202) 885-5069 E-mail: dave.jones@nbc.com Menas Kafatos Physics and Astronomy Department George Mason University 4400 University Drive Fairfax, VA 22030-4444 Ph: (703) 993-1997 E-mail: mkafatos@gmu.edu Konstantinos Kalpakis Universities Space Research Assn/UMBC NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Code 930.5 Greenbelt, MD 20771-0001 Ph: (410) 455-3143 E-mail: kalpakis@cesdis.gsfc.nasa.gov Paul Kanciruk Environmental Sciences Division Oak Ridge National Laboratory/DOE P.O. Box 2008, Mail Stop 64070 Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6407 Ph: (423) 574-7426 E-mail: pkk@ornl.gov

OCR for page 39
--> Thomas R. Karl National Climatic Data Center NOAA 151 Patton Avenue Room 120 Asheville, NC 28801-5001 Ph: (704) 271-4319 E-mail: tkarl@ncdc.noaa.gov Michael Keeler Ecologic Corporation 19 Eye Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20001 Ph: (202) 2318-4100 E-mail: keeler@ecologic.net Douglas H. Kliman MRJ Technology Solutions, Inc. 4400 East Broadway Boulevard Suite 602 Tucson, AZ 85711 Ph: (520) 322-4080 E-mail: dkliman@mrj.com Annette J. Krygiel Institute for National Strategic Studies National Defense University Marshall Hall, Room 212 300 5th Avenue Ft. Lesley J. McNair Washington, DC 20319-6000 Ph: (202) 685-3853 E-mail: krygiela@ndu.edu Nand Lal NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Mailstop 933 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301) 286-7350 E-mail: nand@voyager.gsfc.nasa.gov Louis J. Lanzerotti Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies 700 Mountain Avenue, Room 1 E-439 P.O. Box 636 Murray Hill, NJ 07974-0636 Ph: (908) 582-2279 E-mail: ljl@bell-labs.com Colin Law Department of Space Physics and Astronomy Rice University 6100 Main Street, MS 108 Houston, TX 77005-1892 Ph: (713) 527-8750 (ext. 3644) E-mail: claw@spacsun.rice.edu Barry M. Leiner Corporation for National Research Initatives 882 Payne Court Sunnyvale, CA 94087 Ph: (408) 733-9023 E-mail: bleiner@computer.org Chung-Sheng Li IBM Watson Research Center P.O. Box 704 Yorktown Heights, NY 10598 Ph: (914) 784-6661 E-mail: csli@watson.ibm.com William Liles Central Intelligence Agency Mail Stop 4104 Washington, DC 20505 Ph: (703) 613-8720 E-mail: billcl@wcia.gov Francis Lindsay Department of Geography University of Maryland College Park, MD 20742 Ph: (301) 405-8234 E-mail: flindsay@geog.umd.edu Anne M. Linn Board on Earth Sciences and Resources National Research Council, HA 372 2101 Constitution Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20418 Ph: (202) 334-2744 E-mail: alinn@nas.edu

OCR for page 39
--> Michael Luther NASA Headquarters Code YF Washington, DC 20546 Ph: (202) 358-0261 E-mail: mluther@hq.nasa.gov Martha E. Maiden EOSDIS External Earth Science Systems Program Office NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Code 170 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301) 286-0012 E-mail: martha.maiden@gsfc.nasa.gov Mike Mann NASA Headquarters Code Y Washington, DC 20546 Ph: (202) 358-1132 E-mail: mmann@hq.nasa.gov Nancy Maynard NASA Headquarters Washington, DC 20546 Ph: (202) 358-2559 E-mail: nmaynard@hq.nasa.gov Richard McGinnis LARC DAAC Langley Research Center Mail Stop 157D Hampton, VA 23681-0001 Ph: (767) 864-6893 E-mail: r.s.mcginnis@larc.nasa.gov Les Merideth Data Management Working Group Office of Science and Technology Policy NASA Goddard Space Flight Center CESDIS, Code 930.5 Greenbelt, MD 200771 Ph: (301) 286-8830 E-mail: les@usra.edu Roberta Balstad Miller Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network 2250 Pierce Road University Center, MI 48710 Ph: (517) 797-2601 E-mail: roberta@ciesin.org Karen Moe NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Code 588 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301) 614-5276 E-mail: karen.moe@gsfc.nasa.gov Berrien Moore III Institute for the Study of Earth, Oceans and Space University of New Hampshire Morse Hall 39 College Road Durham, NH 03824-3525 Ph: (603) 862-1766 E-mail: b.moore@unh.edu Stanley A. Morain Earth Data Analysis Center University of New Mexico Albuquerque, NM 87131-6031 Ph: (505) 277-3622 (ext. 228) E-mail: smorain@spock.unm.edu Richard Muntz University of California 3277 Boelter Box 95-1596 580 Portola Plaza Los Angeles, CA 90095 Ph: (310) 825-3546 E-mail: muntz@cs.ucla.edu

OCR for page 39
--> Douglas Nebert Federal Geographic Data Committee National Mapping Division U.S. Geological Survey MS 590 12201 Sunrise Valley Drive Reston, VA 22092 Ph: (703) 648-4151 E-mail: ddnebert@usgs.gov Norine E. Noonan The Graduate School Florida Institute of Technology 150 W. University Boulevard Melbourne, FL 32901 Ph: (407) 674-8960 E-mail: nnoonan@fit.edu Rick Obenschain Earth Science Data and Information Systems NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Mailstop 423 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301) 614-5048 E-mail: arthur.f.obenschain:l@gsfc.nasa.gov Lyndon R. Oleson EDC DAAC EROS Data Center U.S. Geological Survey Sioux Falls, SD 57198 Ph: (605) 594-6164 E-mail: oleson@edcmail.cr.usgs.gov Lola Olsen NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Mailstop 170 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301) 614-5361 E-mail: olsen@gcmd.nasa.gov John A. Orcutt Professor of Geophysics Scripps Institution of Oceanography IGPP (0225) 8604 La Jolla Shores Drive La Jolla, CA 92037 Ph: (619) 534-2887 E-mail: jorcutt@igpp.ucsd.edu Thomas Parris Center for Science and International Affairs Harvard University 41C Cushing Street Cambridge, MA 02138 Ph: (617) 496-6158 E-mail: tparris@fas.harvard.edu Lawrence R. Pettinger Office of Coordination and Requirements National Mapping Division U.S. Geological Survey 590 National Center Reston, VA 20192 Ph: (703) 648-4519 E-mail: lpetting@usgs.gov Skip Reber NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Mailstop 170 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301)286-6534 E-mail: reber@skip.gsfc.nasa.gov Mathew Schwaller NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Mailstop 423 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301) 614-5382 E-mail: schwaller@gsfc.nasa.gov George A. Seielstad University of North Dakota P.O. Box 90007 Grand Forks, ND 58202 Ph: (701) 777-4755 E-mail: gseielst@aero.und.edu Joseph T. Senftle Raytheon Systems Co. 1616 McCormick Drive Upper Marlboro, MD 20774 Ph: (301) 925-0499 E-mail: jsenftle@eos.hitc.com

OCR for page 39
--> James J. Simpson Scripps Institution of Oceanography A-030 La Jolla, CA 92093 Ph: (619) 534-2789 E-mail: jsimpson@ucsd.edu Patrick K. Simpson Scientific Fishery Systems, Inc. P.O. Box 242065 Anchorage, AK 99524 Ph: (907) 563-3474 E-mail: scifish@alaska.net David L. Skole Department of Geography Michigan State University East Lansing, MI 48824 Ph: (517) 353-3300 E-mail: skole@pilot.msu.edu Roy W. Spencer The Global Hydrology Climate Center 977 Explorer Boulevard Mail Stop: HR01 Huntsville, AL 35806 Ph: (205) 922-5960 E-mail: roy.spencer@msfc.nasa.gov Fang-Kuo Sun Reading Information Technology, Inc. 274 Main Street, Suite 203 Reading, MA 01867-3611 Ph: (781) 942-1655 E-mail: fksun@riti.com R. J. Thompson EDC DAAC EROS Data Center Mundt Federal Building Sioux Falls, SD 57198 Ph: (605) 594-6161 E-mail: rjthompson@edcmail.cr.usgs.gov John R. G. Townshend Department of Geography University of Maryland 1113 LeFrak Hall College Park, MD 20742-8225 Ph: (301) 405-4558 E-mail: jt59@umail.umd.edu Alex Tuyahov NASA Headquarters Code YS Washington, DC 20546 Ph: (202) 358-0250 E-mail: atuyahov@hq.nasa.gov Larry Voorhees Oak Ridge National Laboratory DAAC P.O. Box 2008 Mail Stop 6407 Bethel Valley Road Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6407 Ph: (423) 574-7309 E-mail: lvd@ornl.gov Louis Whitsett NASA Headquarters Washington, DC 20546 Ph: (202) 3584767 E-mail: lwhiteset@hq.nasa.gov Diane E. Wickland NASA Headquarters Washington, DC 20546 Ph: (202) 358-0245 E-mail: diane.wickland@hq.nasa.gov Greg Williams Policy Division NASA Headquarters Code YM Washington, DC 20546 Ph: (202) 358-0241 E-mail: gwilliam@hq.nasa.gov

OCR for page 39
--> Warren Wiscombe NASA Goddard Space Flight Center Code 902 Greenbelt, MD 20771 Ph: (301) 614-5132 Email: wiscombe@gsfc.nasa.gov Helen Wood Office of Satellite Data Processing and Distribution NOAA NESDIS 4700 Silver Hill Road Room 1069, Mail Stop 9909 Washington, DC 20233-9909 Ph: (301) 457-5120 E-mail: helen.wood@noaa.gov Maria Zemankova Division of Information and Intelligent Systems National Science Foundation 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Room 1115 Arlington, VA 22230 Ph: (703) 306-1926 E-mail: mzemanko@nsf.gov Victor Zlotnicki Jet Propulsion Laboratory California Institute of Technology 4800 Oak Grove Drive, MS 300-323 Pasadena, CA 91109-8099 Ph: (818) 354-5519 E-mail: vz@pacific.jpl.nasa.gov

OCR for page 39
This page in the original is blank.