The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 119
--> Appendixes

OCR for page 119
This page in the original is blank.

OCR for page 119
--> Appendix A Workshop Participants Joan Adams, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Richard C. Adams, Battelle Memorial Institute Richard C. Alkire, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Paul S. Anderson, Dupont-Merck Pharmaceuticals Jeffrey Banacato, National Science Foundation Eric C. Beckman, University of Pittsburgh Henry N. Blount III, National Science Foundation Robert Brown, The Gillette Company Donald M. Burland, National Science Foundation Daryle Busch, University of Kansas Phillip Certain, University of Wisconsin-Madison Jeff Conrad, U.S. Department of Agriculture Carol Creutz, Brookhaven National Laboratory Anne Datko, U.S. Department of Agriculture Patricia M. Dehmer, U.S. Department of Energy Brian Dougherty, American Institute of Chemical Engineers Michael P. Doyle, Research Corporation Lawrence H. Dubois, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Thom H. Dunning, Jr., Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Karolyn K. Eisenstein, National Science Foundation Raymond E. Fornes, North Carolina State University James Fry, University of Toledo Jean H. Futrell, University of Delaware Judith C. Giordan, International Flavors and Fragrances Harold C. Graboske, Jr., Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Mary Groesch, National Institutes of Health Jack Halpern, University of Chicago

OCR for page 119
--> Beverly K. Hartline, Office of Science and Technology Policy Ned D. Heindel, Lehigh University Fred Heineken, National Science Foundation Sarah G. Horrigan, Office of Management and Budget David A. Hounshell, Carnegie Mellon University Madeleine Jacobs, American Chemical Society Joseph M. Jasinski, IBM Research Center Paul Wyn Jennings, National Science Foundation Andy Kaldor, Exxon Research and Development Corp. Don E. Kash, George Mason University Jack G. Kay, Drexel University Jack A. Kaye, National Aeronautics and Space Administration William Koch, National Institute of Standards and Technology Richard K. Koehn, University of Utah Jules B. Lapidus, Council of Graduate Schools Robert L. Lichter, Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation Andrew J. Lovinger, National Science Foundation Thomas A. Manuel, Air Products and Chemicals Inc. Robert S. Marianelli, U.S. Department of Energy L.E. McNeese, Oak Ridge National Laboratory James W. Mitchell, Lucent Technologies Charles G. Moreland, North Carolina State University Francis Narin, CHI Research, Inc. Janet G. Osteryoung, National Science Foundation Trueman Parish, Eastman Chemical Company Tom Picraux, Sandia National Laboratories Stephen Piotrowicz, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Gintaras V. Reklaitis, Purdue University Mihail C. Roco, National Science Foundation Michael E. Rogers, National Institutes of Health Ronald W. Rousseau, Georgia Institute of Technology K. Barbara Schowen, University of Kansas Peter J. Stang, University of Utah Gerald M. Stokes, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory B. Ray Stults, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Judith S. Sunley, National Science Foundation Janis Tabor, Council on Chemical Research Kathleen C. Taylor, General Motors Michael Thompson, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Marion C. Thurmauer, Argonne National Laboratory Frank P. Tully, Sandia National Laboratories David L. Venezky, Naval Research Laboratory Francis A. Via, Akzo-Nobel Chemicals, Inc. Isiah M. Warner, Louisiana State University Vern W. Weekman, Mobil R&D Corporation (retired) Patrick Windham, Windham Consulting

OCR for page 119
--> Loren Yager, U.S. General Accounting Office John T. Yates, Jr., University of Pittsburgh Charles Zukoski, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Staff Douglas J. Raber Tamae Maeda Wong Sybil A. Paige