since 1974 and he was associate dean of graduate studies from 1976 to 1980. Dr. Walker's group is currently focused on the study of the physical processes underlying the structure and dynamical behavior of the solar corona and chromosphere, using observations from a variety of spacecraft, including the joint NASA-European Space Agency Solar and Heliospheric Observatory (SOHO) and his group's Multispectral Solar Telescope Array. Dr. Walker's group is also establishing a Stanford Advanced X-ray Astrophysics Facility (AXAF) Science Center, in preparation for the launch of NASA's AXAF X-ray Observatory in 1998, which will provide access to AXAF observations for astronomers in the western United States. He is a member of Sigma Xi, the American Physical Society, American Geophysical Union, American Astronomical Society, and International Astronomical Union. Dr. Walker is also a member of the Hansen Experimental Physics Laboratory and the Center for Space Science and Astrophysics.

Patrick John Webber—Dr. Webber received his Ph.D. in plant ecology from Queens University in Canada. His research interests are broad, ranging from classical phytosociology and plant taxonomy to arctic ecology and the ecology of managed landscapes, which are prevalent in the U.S. Midwest; his current research focus is on landscape ecology and the evolution of managed and natural ecosystems. Prior to receiving his Ph.D., he was an assistant professor at York University's (Canada) Department of Biology (1966-1969). Between 1969 and 1989, he progressed from assistant to full professor at the University of Colorado's Department of Environmental, Population, and Organismic Biology. Dr. Webber was also director of the University of Colorado's Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research (1979-1986). From 1987 to 1993, he was program director for ecology at the National Science Foundation (NSF). Dr. Webber's first position at Michigan State University was as the director of the W.K. Kellogg Biological Station (1990-1993). He then returned to NSF as the program director for arctic system science. He has been professor of forestry at Michigan State University since 1990, and professor of botany and plant pathology since 1993. Dr. Webber has directed several large research projects, including the San Juan Ecology Project (1970-1976), the U.S. Alpine Program of the International Tundra Biome Program (1971-1974); he was the founding principal investigator of NSF's Alpine Long-term Ecological Research Program (1980-1987). He is currently principal investigator of an NSF 5-year award to study the effect of climate warming on tundra vegetation under the International Tundra Experiment project.

Ronald M. Konkel, ConsultantMr. Konkel, who served as consultant to the Task Group on Research and Analysis Programs, received his M.A. in economics from Tulane University. He entered government service as a management intern at the NASA Johnson Space Center (1964-1966). He was a program analyst in the Office of Manned Space Flight at NASA Headquarters and later served as a program analyst and staff economist in the Office of the Comptroller (1966-1972). He served as a budget examiner and later as deputy division chief for the Energy and Science Division and as chief of the Science and Space Programs Branch at the Office of Management and Budget (Executive Office of the President, 1972-1980). He was staff director for the U.S. Senate Subcommittee on Science, Technology, and Space (1980-1981) and a senior economist in the Planning Office at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (1981-1982). From 1982 to 1989, Mr. Konkel served at NASA Headquarters as director of the Administration and Resources Management Division in the Office of Space Science and Applications. He spent a sabbatical as a visiting fellow at the Center for Space and Geosciences Policy at the University of Colorado (1988-1989). Mr. Konkel retired in late 1990 to work as a consultant and has completed assignments for NASA, the Universities Space Research Association, the congressional Office of Technology Assessment, and three organizations within the National Research Council.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement