from balloon and high-altitude aircraft platforms. Dr. Anderson was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Pittsburgh from 1971 to 1972, and then a research assistant professor of physics from 1972 to 1975. From 1975 to 1978, he was a research scientist at the University of Michigan's Space Physics Research Laboratory; this was followed by a brief associate professorship with the Department of Chemistry and the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Science (April-July 1978). Dr. Anderson was the Robert P. Burden Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry at Harvard University from 1978 to 1982, and he is currently the Philip S. Weld Professor of Atmospheric Chemistry. Dr. Anderson is an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1985), a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1986), a fellow of the American Geophysical Union (1989), and an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences (1992). He has also received the American Chemical Society National Award for Creative Advances in Environmental Science and Technology (1989), Harvard University's Ledley Prize for Most Valuable Contribution to Science by a Member of the Faculty (1989), the United Nations' Earth Day International Award (1992), the University of Washington Arts and Sciences' Distinguished Alumnus Achievement Award (1993), the Gustavus John Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest awarded by the Northeastern Section of the American Chemical Society (1993), and the E.O. Lawrence Award in Environmental Science and Technology (1993). Dr. Anderson was also a mission scientist for the NASA Airborne Arctic Stratospheric Experiment 11 (AASE 11) from 1991 to 1992.

Magnus Hööik—Dr. Höök received his Ph.D. from the University of Uppsala, in Sweden, where he also worked, first as a teaching assistant (1971-1974) and then as assistant professor (1974-1979). In 1979, he was associate professor at the Swedish University of Agricultural Science. Dr. Höök taught at the University of Alabama at Birmingham from 1980 to 1992 in several capacities: associate professor and professor of biochemistry (1980-1992); professor of microbiology (1989-1992); associate professor of ophthalmology (1989-1992); and professor of cell biology (1989-1992). He holds several concurrent positions, which include director of the Helen Keller Eye Research Foundation (1988-present); director of the Center for Extracellular Matrix Biology at Texas A&M University's Institute of Biosciences and Technology (1992-present); professor of biochemistry and biophysics at Texas A&M (1992-present); adjunct professor of cell biology at Baylor College of Medicine (1993-present); adjunct professor of veterinary anatomy and public health at Texas A&M's College of Veterinary Medicine (1993-present); and adjunct professor of both ophthalmology and medicine at Baylor (1994-present); and he is the Neva and Wesley West Chair at Texas A&M's Institute of Biosciences and Technology. His primary research interests include extracellular matrix biology; molecular and cellular regulation of cell adhesion; bacterial interactions with extracellular matrix; and septic arthritis and pathobiology of cell adhesion. Dr. Höök received an American Heart Association Established Investigatorship Award in 1981-1986.

Juri Matisoo—Dr. Matisoo received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Minnesota and is widely experienced in research management. Dr. Matisoo began his career in 1964 as a member of the research staff at the Research Division of the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, specializing in low-temperature physics. In 1969, he moved to research management, holding a variety of positions, including director of silicon technology at the T.J. Watson Research Center, where he directed teams researching high-performance devices, process technologies, microprocessor designs, and a state-of-the-art pilot line for process testing, and culminating with a 7-year term as vice president and director of the IBM Almaden Research Center, IBM's facility for storage-related research. From 1981 to 1982, Dr. Matisoo served on IBM's Corporate Technology Committee, part of the Office of the IBM Chair responsible for providing technical advice and guidance. Dr. Matisoo retired from IBM in

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement