The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 55
--> Appendices

OCR for page 55
This page in the original is blank.

OCR for page 55
--> Appendix A Workshop on Item and Test Specifications for VNT December 5–6, 1997 Panelists and Invited Participants Joan Auchter, GED Testing Service Stephen Dunbar, University of Iowa Jeremy Finn, Temple University Bert Green, John Hopkins University John Guthrie, University of Maryland Andy Hartman, The National Institute for Literacy Bill Honig, San Francisco State University Eugene Johnson, Boston College Sylvia Johnson, Howard University Patricia Kenney, Learning Research and Development Center, University of Pittsburgh Jeremy Kilpatrick, University of Georgia Stephen Klein, RAND Mary Lindquist, Columbia State University Peter Pashley, Law School Admission Council Jack Stenner, Metametrics David Thissen, Chapel Hill, North Carolina Other Participants Donald Burdick, Metametrics Mary Crovo, National Assessment Governing Board Richard Durán, University of California, Santa Barbara (BOTA) Christopher Edley, Jr., Harvard Law School (BOTA) Steve Ferrara, American Institutes for Research Ray Fields, National Assessment Governing Board

OCR for page 55
--> Tom Fisher, National Assessment Governing Board Adina Kole, U.S. Department of Education Mark Kutner, American Institutes for Research Archie LaPointe, American Institutes for Research Sharon Lewis, Council of the Great City Schools Robert Linn, University of Colorado (BOTA) David Mandel, MPR Associates Wayne Martin, Council of Chief State School Officers John Olson, American Institutes for Research Audrey Pendleton, U.S. Department of Education Gary Phillips, U.S. Department of Education Terry Salinger, American Institutes for Research Sharif Shakrani, National Assessment Governing Board Catherine Snow, Harvard University (BOTA) Larry Snowhite, McA Enterprises Holly Spurlock, U.S. Department of Education Richard Stombres, Staff of Representative William Goodling Kent Talbert, Staff of Representative William Goodling William Taylor, Attorney at Law, Washington, D.C. (BOTA) William Trent, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (BOTA) Roy Truby, National Assessment Governing Board Jennifer Vranek, ACHIEVE Kenneth Wolpin, University of Pennsylvania (BOTA)