Click for next page ( 96

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 95
APPENDIX 8 . MEETING OF GOVERNMENT ~ INDUSTRY I LABOR AND RESEARCH PRINCIPALS IN U . S. MANNING INNOVATION Maritime Institute for Training and Graduate Studies Baltimore, Maryland October 31-No~rember 1, 1983 I . Participants Leo Collar, Executive Vice President, Delta Steamship Lines Thomas Crowley, President and Chairman, Crowley Maritime Henry Disley, Presidents Marine Fireman' ~ Union Frank Drozak, President, Seafarers International Union Jack J. Ervin, President, Trinidad Corporation Arthur W. Fr iedberg, Director, Off ice of Mar itime Labor and Training Maritime Administration, Department of Transportation Harrison Glennan, President, Falcon Carriers Awes G. Gross, Senior Advisor for Research and Development Maritime Administration, Department of Transportation Arthur J. Haskell, Senior Vice President, Matson Navigation Company George Beam, Senior Vice President, Waterman Steamship Marcus Johnson, Vice President, Sea-Land Service, Inc. Peter Johnson, Pres $dent, Pac if ic~Gulf Mar ine Robert E. Johnston, Vice President, OSG Bulkships Jerome E. Joseph, Assistant to the President, Associated Maritime Of f icers Warren Lebaclc, Deputy Administrator, Maritime Administration, Department of Transportation Zelvin Levine, Director, Office of Advanced Ship Operation, Mar itisee Administration, Department of Transportation William Loefatedt, Chief, Manning Branch, U.S. Coast Guard Robert J. Lowen, President, Masters, Mates and Pilots George F. Cowman, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Farrell Lines Clyde T. I`usk, Chief, Office of Merchant Marine Safety, U . S . Coast Guard Robert P. McGee, Senior Vice President, Puerto Rico Marine Management, Inc. Raymond T. MaRay, President, Marine Engineers Beneficial Association, Distr let 2 William Nations, Training Director, American Radio Association 95

OCR for page 95
96 Thomas Pross, Associate Administrator for Shipbuilding, Ship Operation, and Research, Mar itime Administration, Department of Transpor tation William Ristine, Vice President, Keystone Shipping W. Bruce Seaton, President, American President Lines Eugene Spector, Research Director, National Mar Tine Union Richard Sutherland, Chief, Office of Merchant Vessel Personnel UPS. Coast Guard Allen Taylor, Vice President, Lykes Brothers Steamship Company Stanley S. Unger, Senior Vice President, Ogden Marine Shannon Wall, President, National Maritime Onion Virgil Williams:, Program Manager, Office of Ship Performance and Safety, Mar itime Administration, Department of Transpor tation John A. Zotkowski, Secretary Treasurer, Radio Officer's Union ~ I . Guests l John E. Flipse, Chairman, Marine Board President, Texas A&M Research Foundation John F. Wing, Voice Chairman, Marine Board Senior Rice President, Transportation Consulting Division, Booz, Allen, and Hamilton IT I a Committee Wayne Horvitz, Chairman, Labor-Management Consultant Harry 8enford, The University of Michigan Frank J. Boland, Upgrading and Retraining Plan, National Maritime Union John V. Caf f rey, Mobil Corporation Clinton J. Maguire, U.S. Coast Guard (Capt. ret. John W. Reiter, American Bureau of Shipping Jacques P.oggema, Consultant, Organizational Development {Netherlands) Julian B. Singman, Maritime Institute for Research and Industr ial Development Thomas J. Smith, Farrell Lines {ret. ~ Richard E. Walton, Harvard University IV. Staf f Jack W. Boller, Executive Director Donald W. Perkins, Assistant Executive Director Michael E. Gaf fney, Consultant Terr ie Noble, Secretary

OCR for page 95
97 AGENDA Monday, October 31, 1983 0930 Welcome Introductions Plenary Session Process of Organi- zational Change in I ndustry 1200 LUNCH Mr . Wayne L. Horvitz, Cha irman Committee on Effective Manning Admiral Harold E. Shear (USN ret. ~ Administrator, Mar itime Administration Rear Admiral Clyde T. Lusk Chief, Office of Merchant Marine Safety, U. S. Coast Guard Or . Richard E. Walton, Professor of Business Administration Harvard University Dr . Jacques Roggema, Organizational Development Consultant, Rantens, Netherlands 1300 Workshop Session No. 1 Effective Manning: Goals and Problems o Wor k Group D iscuss ions 1500 Plenary Session 1700 Adjourn 1730 Dinner 1830 Workshop Session No. 2 2030 Plenary Session 2200 Adjourn 0830 Workshop Session No. 3 1030 Plenary Session 1200 LUNCH Manning Innovations, Technical and Organizational 0 Wor k Group Discussions Tuesday, November 1, 1983 Complementary Changes Affecting Shipboard Manning 0 Work Group Discussions

OCR for page 95
98 Agenda (continued) 1300 Workshop Session No. 4 1500 Plenary Session 1630 Su~ary-Closing Remarks 1700 Tour (Optional) The Process of Change: How Approached Abroad and Implications for the United States o Work Group Discussions Ha. Wayne L. Horvitz