The committee is also grateful to the vendors of marine waste management equipment who gave generously of their time in providing information vital to the committee mission at a gathering at the National Research Council's Georgetown facilities in April 1995. The following companies and individuals participated: ABB Raymond, Ralph R. Ferrell; Allied Defense Industries, Inc. (representing Strachan & Henshaw), Terry Silampa; Brule CC&E, Robert T. Poe; Consolidated Defense Corporation, Joseph Longo; Deerberg Systems, Jochen Deerberg; Enercon Systems, David A. Hoecke; International Compactor, Michael J. Pierson; Leslie Technologies, James DeFore; Norsk Hydro Waste Treatment Systems, Johannes Adderhaugen, Bjorn Fossen; Plasma Energy Applied Technology, Edward F. Snow; ReTech, Richard C. Eschenbach; Somat, Aleda P. Loughman, Amelia Collins; Sonoma Research, Oleh Weres; and Ventomatic, Frank M. Hillery. Deerberg and Norsk Hydro kindly provided extensive information packages describing integrated systems in detail.

The committee benefited from many other discussions with individuals in the field of marine waste management. Although the analyses and conclusions of this report are those of the committee, a great deal of information was provided by people and organizations not mentioned above. The committee is nonetheless grateful to these contributors.

A special vote of thanks goes to CDR J. Lane Willson, USN, who provided important liaison services necessary during the information gathering phase of the study.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement