Click for next page ( 204

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 203
APPENDIX D COMPOSITION OF WORKSHOPS Work Group on Measures of Marine Container Terminal Productivity William C. Webster, University of California at Berkeley, Leader Edgar Ted Rust, Williams, Kubelbeck & Assoc., Rapporteur Wes Allen, Georgia Ports Authority Carme! Aquilina, MarsaxIokk Port Project, Malta Asaf Ash ar, Louisiana State University Keith Christian, Port of Seattle Marty Frates, IBT Local 70 Bradley Gewehr, Association of American Railroads Roger J. Giesinger, Virginia International Terminals, Inc. John Hachey, Port of Portland Hugh M. Lacey, Sea-Land Service, Inc., retired Carl MartIand, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Jeremy Mattox, Jeremy Mattox & Associates, Inc. Eugene Pentimonti, American President I.ines, Ltd. John Pisani, Maritime Adrn~nistration Joan C. Rijsenbrij, Europe Container Terminus Sven I. Thoolen, Matson Navigation Company Jack Wells, Port of Los Angeles 203

OCR for page 203
204 Work Group on Issues in Improving Productivity Henry Marcus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Leader Gregory Doyle, I,ouisiana State University, Rapporteur Marge Abbott, Port of Portland Ben Andrews, S.E.A. David Burns, Burlington Northern Railroad Robert A. Curry, California Cartage Co., Inc. Joe! Fadem, University of California at Los Angeles Nancy Friedman, Advanced Technology, Inc. Michael Gaffney, Cornell University Ronald Katims, Container Transport Technology Jerry Lorelli, U.S. Customs Service Brian Maher, Maker Terminals Co. Geoffrey R. McIntyre, Department of Transportation Robert Nolan, International Terminal Operating Co., Inc. Brendan W. O'Malley, The Port Authority of New York/New Jersey Ernest L. Perry, Port of Los Angeles, retired Anthony Petrizzo, Maersk Container Service Co. Tony E. Pittsey, Sea-Land Service, Inc. Dan Rayacich, D. Rayacich Maritime Consultants, Inc. Christopher Redlich, Jr., Marine Terminals Corp. Col. Nolan Rhodes (retired), Port of Corpus Christi Authority L. P. Robinson, American President Lines, Ltd. J. B. Rollison, Georgia Ports Authority Rudy Rubio, International Longshoremen's and Warehousemen's Union Duncan Scott, Port of Long Beach Don Sheppard, International Transportation Service Paul Sorenson, URS Corporation John Verheul, Port of Oakland Thomas D. Wilcox, National Association of Stevedores Work Group on Implications of Technological and Operational Factors for Competition and Oracle Chicory M. Sayre, E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Co. Chairman/L'eader Donald Walsh. International Maritime, Inc., Rapporteur

OCR for page 203
205 Charles F. Connors, Port of Long Beach Thomas Dowd, University of Washington Mary Dyess, National Association of Stevedores Robert Fall, Sea-Land Service, Inc. Kyle King, King Interests Lee Lane, Association of American Railroads Paul B. Mentz, Maritime Adrn~nistration Donald L. Mosman, Port of Los Angeles Frank W. Nolan, Jr., International Terminal Operators, retired Peter G. SandIund, Council of European and Japanese National Shipowner's Associations Calle Westman, Transconsultants AB Larry Whiteneck, Moffatt & Nichol, Engineers

OCR for page 203