Richard A. McCray is the George Gamow Distinguished Professor of astrophysical and planetary sciences. Dr. McCray was awarded a Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, and in 1990 he received the Dannie S. Heinemann prize for astrophysics from the American Physical Society. In 1989, he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences. In 1996, he was appointed concurrent professor of astronomy at Nanjing University. Dr. McCray's research is on the theory of the dynamics of the interstellar gas, theory of cosmic x-ray sources, and, most recently, the theory of supernova 1987a. Dr. McCray is also engaged in observations of these phenomena with various spacecraft, including the Hubble Space Telescope. From 1993 to 1996, he served on the NRC's Committee on Astronomy and Astrophysics (CAA). From 1994 to 1995, he chaired the CAA's Panel on Ground-based Optical and Infrared Astronomy. Currently, he is a member of the Mathematical and Physical Science Advisory Committee for the National Science Foundation.

Ronald L. Moore is an internationally recognized solar scientist. He received his Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1972 and was a Research Fellow with the Caltech Solar Astronomy Group (1972-1980). He joined the NASA Marshall Space Flight Center solar physics branch in 1981, where he developed and continues to lead a research program on observed solar magnetic fields and their effects in the solar atmosphere. Dr. Moore has published over 100 solar research papers and articles in refereed journals, conference proceedings, books, and encyclopedias.

Robert Rosner has been a professor of theoretical astrophysics in the departments of astronomy and astrophysics at the Enrico Fermi Institute at the University of Chicago since 1987. Most of his work is in the general field of astrophysical fluid dynamics and plasma astrophysics, focusing on theories of stellar magnetic activity, models for stellar x-ray emission from early and late-type stars, models for stellar interiors and stellar evolution, turbulent plasma heating and transport processes, models for galactic transient x-ray sources, and magnetohydrodynamic processes in accretion disks and jets, and models for galactic and cluster halos. He has also published on the application of stochastic differential equations to astrophysical problems, on optimization and inverse methods in astrophysics, and on computational and analytical studies of laboratory fluid dynamics experiments ranging from thermal convection at high rayleigh number to doubly diffusive convection. Dr. Rosner is a former member of the NRC's Committee on Astronomy and Astrophysics.

Philip H. Scherrer is a research professor in the Department of Physics and Center for Space Science and Astrophysics at Stanford University, where he leads the solar oscillation investigation-Michelson Doppler Imager (SOI-MDI) project begun in 1988. His team designed and constructed MDI, which is a solar telescope on the SOHO spacecraft that measures velocity patterns on the surface of the Sun. Dr. Scherrer's group also operates the Wilcox Solar Observatory at Stanford University. Topics of interest include the solar cycle, the large-scale structure and evolution of the solar magnetic field, the varying influence of the Sun's magnetic field on the solar wind and the earth, and solar rotation. He is a former member of the NRC's Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Research (1987-1990).

Carolus J. Schrijver is currently a physicist/specialist at the Lockheed Martin Palo Alto Advanced Technology Center. His present duties include data analysis of SOHO'S MDI and of the Transitional Region and Coronal Explorer (TRACE) mission, and the scientific coordination

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement