Cover Image

Not for Sale

View/Hide Left Panel



Biographical Sketches

Christian E. Newcomer, Chair. Dr. Newcomer is Director of the Division of Laboratory Animal Medicine and Research Associate Professor of the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine of the University of North Carolina. Dr. Newcomer is the immediate past president of the American College of Laboratory Medicine and Vice President of the Council on Accreditation, Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care (AAALAC) International. His research interest is the infectious diseases of laboratory animals.

Frederick W. Alt is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Charles A. Janeway Professor of Pediatrics and Professor of Genetics at Harvard Medical School and Children's Hospital, and a Senior Investigator at the Center for Blood Research in Boston. He studies the molecular and cell biology of immunity. He sits on the editorial boards of Molecular and Cellular Biology, International Immunology, Developmental Immunology, Advances in Immunology, Current Biology, Science and Immunity. He is a Co-Editor of Current Opinion in Immunology, an Advisory Editor for Journal of Experimental Medicine and a Contributing Editor for Molecular Medicine. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Microbiology, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Ransom L. Baldwin is Professor and Sesnon Chair of the Department of Animal Science of the University of California at Davis. His research interests are in ruminant digestion, physiology of lactation, nutritional energetics, mechanisms and quantitative aspects of regulation of animal and tissue metabolism, and computer simulation modeling of animal systems. He was a member of the ILAR Guide Committee.

John Donovan is Senior Director of Worldwide Laboratory Animal Resources at Rh ône-Poulenc Rorer Pharmaceuticals, Inc. From 1986 to 1994, he was Director of the Office of Laboratory Animal Science at the National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health. He is a Diplomate of the American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine (ACLAM) and was President of ACLAM 1994-5.

Janet Greger is Associate Dean for Research of the Medical School and Professor of Nutritional Sciences and Environmental Toxicology of the University of Wisconsin. She has chaired the all campus animal care and use committee at the University of Wisconsin and is on the Board of Trustees of AAALAC (1992-1997), serving on their strategic planning committee in 1996. She was also on the Board of Directors of the Council on Government Relations and was a member of the NRC committee that wrote the report on Nutrient Requirements of Laboratory Animals, fourth edition.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement