James E. Nottke, DuPont Company (retired), Chair

Robert J. Eagan, Sandia National Laboratories, Vice Chair

Robert L. Brown, The Gillette Company

Stephen Z.D. Cheng, University of Akron

James D. Idol, Jr., Rutgers University

Lawrence C. Kravitz, Consultant, Rockville, Md.

Frederick F. Lange, University of California, Santa Barbara

Donald E. McLemore, Raychem Corporation

Boyd A. Mueller, Howmet Corporation

Donald R. Paul, University of Texas at Austin

Dennis W. Readey, Colorado School of Mines

Iwona Turlik, Motorola Corporation Manufacturing Research Center

Walter L. Winterbottom, Alumax Engineered Metal Processes, Inc.

Submitted for the panel by its Chair, James E. Nottke, this assessment of the fiscal year 1999 activities of the Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory is based on site visits by individual panel members, a formal meeting of the panel on March 4–5, 1999, in Gaithersburg, Md., and on the annual report of the laboratory.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement