David H. Auston, Rice University, Chair

Janet S. Fender, Air Force Research Laboratory, Vice Chair

Anthony J. Berejka, Consultant, Huntington, N.Y.

Gary C. Bjorklund, Bjorklund Consulting, Inc.

D. Keith Bowen, Bede Scientific Incorporated

Shirley Chiang, University of California, Davis

Gregory R. Choppin, Florida State University

Stuart B. Crampton, Williams College

Leonard S. Cutler, Hewlett-Packard Company

Ronald O. Daubach, OSRAM SYLVANIA Development, Inc.

Paul M. DeLuca, Jr., University of Wisconsin–Madison

Daniel J. Larson, Pennsylvania State University

David S. Leckrone, Goddard Space Fight Center, NASA

Harold Metcalf, State University of New York, Stony Brook

David W. Pratt, University of Pittsburgh

Neville V. Smith, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Winthrop W. Smith, University of Connecticut

Robert G. Wheeler, Yale University

Submitted for the panel by its Chair, David H. Auston, and its Vice Chair, Janet S. Fender, this assessment of the fiscal year 1999 activities of the Physics Laboratory is based on site visits by individual panel members, a formal meeting of the panel on March 11–12, 1999, in Boulder, Colo., and documents provided by the laboratory.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement