ronment. He was President of the National Academy of Engineering from 1983 to 1995. Prior to that, he was President of UCAR. He was appointed Chief of the U.S. Weather Bureau and was the first Administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. He was the Karl T. Compton Lecturer at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1995–1996. He has been awarded the Vannevar Bush Award, the Tyler Prize for environmental achievement, the Charles E. Lindbergh Award for technology and environment, the Rockefeller Public Service Award for Protection of Natural Resources, and the International Meteorological Organization Prize.


David Challoner, Foreign Secretary, Institute of Medicine

Harold Forsen, Foreign Secretary, National Academy of Engineering

F. Sherwood Rowland, Foreign Secretary, National Academy of Sciences

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement