Peter B. Moore, a biophysicist and biochemist at Yale University, has experience with all three experimental media considered in this study: neutrons, synchrotrons, and magnetic fields. Dr. Moore has pioneered the development of novel biophysical approaches for obtaining structural information on macromolecules and their assemblies. His neutron scattering analyses of the ribosome and NMR structure determination of ribosomal RNA fragments have enlightened biological understanding of structure-function relationships in RNA machines. He received a B.S. from Yale University (1961) and a Ph.D. in biophysics from Harvard University (1966).

Dagmar Ringe is a professor of biochemistry and chemistry at Brandeis University. Her research group studies the relationship of protein three-dimensional structure to chemical function, using a combination of design of transition-state analog inhibitors, site-directed mutagenesis, and x-ray crystallography. Dr. Ringe received a Ph.D. from Boston University.

Cyrus R. Safinya is a professor of materials and physics and an affiliated faculty member of the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Program at the University of California at Santa Barbara. Before joining the UCSB faculty, he was senior staff physicist and project leader for x-ray scattering at the Exxon Research and Engineering Company, where he worked on the structure of liquid crystals, complex fluids, and biological membranes. Dr. Safinya’s work emphasizes characterization of new structures and intermolecular interactions in self-assembled liquid crystalline and biological systems via modern synchrotron x-ray techniques of high-resolution and small-angle x-ray scattering. He initiated and chaired the first Gordon Research Conference on Complex Fluids (1990) and co-chaired the first Materials Research Society Meeting on Macromolecular Liquids (1989). Dr. Safinya received one of the two Rothschild fellowships awarded annually by the Curie Institute in Paris in 1994. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society (1994) and of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1997). He received a B.S. in mathematics and physics from Bates College (1975) and a Ph.D. in physics from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1981).

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement