Donald L. Johnson (NAE) is vice president, Product and Process Technology, Grain Processing Corporation. He has also been senior development engineer and manager, Product Development Groups; and director, Chemicals Research and Development Departments at A.E. Staley Manufacturing Company. He is a member of the Advisory Council, College of Applied Science, Miami University, and member of the Departmental Visiting Committee, Botany Department, University of Texas at Austin. His primary interests and expertise are in the utilization and processing of renewable resources for food ingredients and industrial chemicals. He has an Sc.D. in chemical engineering from Washington University and a B.S. in chemical engineering from the University of Illinois.

Roberta Nichols (NAE) was with the Ford Motor Company from 1979 to 1995 in several positions: manager, Electric Vehicle (EV) External Strategy and Planning Department, North American Automotive Operations; manager, EV External Affairs, EV Planning & Program Office; manager, Alternative Fuels Department, Environment and Safety Engineering Staff; and principal research engineer, Alternative Fuels Department, Scientific Research Laboratory. She was also a member of the Technical Staff at Aerospace Corporation from 1960 to 1979. She is a fellow, Society of Automotive Engineers, a recipient of the National Achievement Award from the Society of Women Engineers, and a recipient of the Clean Air Award for Advancing Air Pollution Technology from the South Coast Air Quality Management District. Dr. Nichols has served on a number of advisory groups on alcohol-based transportation fuels. Her expertise includes alternative fuel vehicles, electric vehicles, internal combustion engines, and strategic planning. She has a Ph.D. in engineering from the University of Southern California.

Daniel Sperling is professor of civil engineering and environmental science and policy and founding director of the Institute of Transportation Studies at the University of California, Davis (ITS-Davis), where he oversees large research programs on mobility (including the use of small EVs and smart car sharing), fuel-cell vehicles, and environmental assessments of ITS technologies. Dr. Sperling specializes in advanced transportation technologies, energy and environmental impacts, and travel behavior and is a recognized international expert on transportation technology policy. He has conducted extensive studies on advanced automotive technologies for low emissions, including approaches to technology development and realization, has expertise in transportation engineering, and has conducted extensive investigations on alternative fueled vehicles and sustainable transportation. Dr. Sperling is a recent member of the NRC Committee on Liquid Fuel Options, the Committee on Transportation Options for Megacities, and the Committee on Transportation and a Sustainable Environment. He was founding chair of the NRC Alternative Transportation Fuels Committee from 1989 to 1996 of the Transportation Research Board. He received a Ph.D. in transportation engineering from the University of California, Berkeley.

Steven H. Strauss is professor, Department of Forest Science, Molecular and Cellular Biology and Genetics, Oregon State University and director, Tree Genetic Engineering Research Cooperative, College of Forestry, Oregon State University. His past positions include visiting scientist, INRA, Versailles and Orleans, France; visiting professor, College of Forestry, Australian National University; and visiting scientist, CSIRO Division of Plant Industry, Australia. He has been a National Science Foundation (NSF) Presidential Young Investigator and has served on a number of NSF, U.S. Department of Agriculture, and NRC panels. He is chairman, International Union of Forestry Research Organizations Working Party on Molecular Genetics of Forest Trees. His research interests include genetic engineering, genome mapping, and population genetics of forest trees. He has a Ph.D. in forest genetics from the University of California, Berkeley.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement