building in a research complex that contains facilities ranging from research laboratories to a pilot plant. He received a B.A. in chemistry from the University of Connecticut in 1975, a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from the University of Georgia in 1979, and an M.B.A. in 1985 from the University of Delaware.

Michael Reagan is an architect and vice president of Ellenzweig Associates, specializing in the programming, design, and construction administration of scientific research and teaching facilities. His major projects over 20 years include science research and teaching facilities for major universities, colleges, and private industry. He serves as a member of the Project Kaleidoscope steering committee for facilities. He received a bachelor of environmental design from Miami University and a masters of architecture from the University of Michigan, and he has completed advanced studies at the Architectural Association School of Architecture in London.

Paul R. Resnick, retired, was a DuPont fellow employed by DuPont Fluoroproducts. He is an organic chemist whose research focused on fluorine chemistry. He has been involved both in laboratory renovations and in building a new structure for chemical research. Dr. Resnick received his B.A. from Swarthmore College in 1955 and his Ph.D. in chemistry from Cornell University in 1961. He is past chair of the Fluorine Division of the American Chemical Society and has received the American Chemical Society's Award in Fluorine Chemistry.

Amos B. Smith III is the Rhodes-Thompson Professor of Chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania. He is an organic chemist whose research is focused on the synthesis of complex biologically active compounds and theoretically interesting unnatural products and novel materials. He was involved in the construction of a recently completed, new laboratory research building at the University of Pennsylvania. He received his combined B.S. and M.S. from Bucknell University in 1966 and his Ph.D. from Rockefeller University in 1972. He has served on numerous national editorial and advisory boards and has been chair of the Organic Division of the American Chemical Society (ACS) and is currently first editor-in-chief of the new ACS publication, Organic Letters. He has won awards including the Alexander von Humboldt Research Award for Senior U.S. Scientists, the ACS Ernest Guenther Award in the Chemistry of Natural Products, and the ACS Award for Creativity in Synthetic Organic Chemistry.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement