University School of Medicine. Dr. Weissman was a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of Amgen (1981-1989), DNAX (1981-1992), and T-Cell Sciences (1988-1992). He was a co-founder of SyStemix and was chairman of its Scientific Advisory Board and a member of its Board of Directors in 1988-1997. His main research interests are hematopoietic stem cells, lymphocyte differentiation, lymphocyte homing receptors, and phylogeny of the immune system.

Sheila E. Widnall received her BSc (1960), MS (1961), and ScD (1964) in aeronautics and astronautics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). She was appointed Rockefeller Mauze Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics at MIT in 1986 and served as MIT's associate provost from 1992-1993. After serving as secretary of the US Air Force from 1993-1997 she returned to her faculty position at MIT.

William Julius Wilson is the Lewis P. and Linda L. Geyser University Professor at Harvard University. He was formerly Lucy Flower University Professor of Sociology and Public Policy at the University of Chicago. He received the National Medal of Science in 1998. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Education; a former member of the President's Committee on the National Medal of Science; and a past president of both the American Sociological Association and the Consortium of Social Science Associations.

William A. Wulf is president of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). He was AT&T Professor of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Virginia. He has served as assistant director of the National Science Foundation, chairman and CEO of Tartan Laboratories, Inc., and professor of computer science at Carnegie Mellon University. He has been a member of NAE since 1993 and served as chair of the Computer Science and Telecommunications Board.


Richard E. Bissell is executive director of the Policy Division of the National Academy of Sciences and Director of COSEPUP. He took up his current position in June 1998. Most recently, he served as coordinator of the Interim Secretariat of the World Commission on Dams (1997-1998) and as a member and chair of the Inspection Panel at the World Bank (1994-1997). He worked closely with the National Academy of Sciences during his tenure in senior positions at the US Agency for International Development (1986-1993) and as head of both the Bureau of Science and Technology and the Bureau of Program and Policy Coordination. He has published widely in political economy and has taught at Georgetown University and the University of Pennsylvania. He received his BA

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement