Association. Dr. Barry is also the past chair of the ESCOP Social Sciences Subcommittee and the current chair of the Council on Food, Agricultural and Resource Economics (C-FARE). He has been a professor at Texas A&M University and the University of Guelph; editor of the American Journal of Agricultural Economies’, and consulting editor for the European Review of Agricultural Economics. Dr. Barry received his PhD, MS, and BS degrees in agricultural economics from the University of Illinois.

Francis F.Busta is professor and former head of the Department of Food Science and Nutrition at the University of Minnesota, St. Paul. He is a consultant to 3M, the International Consortium of Food Quality Professionals, Inc., and the Proctor and Gamble Company. He is a long-time member of the International Commission on Microbiological Specifications for Food. His research interests include environmental stress on microorganisms, influence of food systems on growth and survival of microorganisms, thermal processing, general microbiologic aspects of food processing and preservation, probiotic control of sporeformers and cancer, and hazard-analysis critical control point approaches to quality management. Dr. Busta studied food science at the University of Illinois, where he received his PhD degree; and dairy industries and bacteriology at the University of Minnesota, where he received his MS and BA degrees.

Mary-Dell Chilton is senior staff scientist at Novartis Seeds in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina. She earned her PhD in chemistry on the Urbana campus of the University of Illinois in 1967. After postdoctoral studies and various research appointments at the University of Washington, she joined the faculty of Washington University, in St. Louis, in 1979. Her research group in collaboration with others produced the first transgenic tobacco plants in 1982. She joined Ciba-Geigy in 1983 as executive director of agricultural biotechnology. She held administrative positions at Ciba for 11 years, and she has returned to active engagement in bench research at Ciba, now Novartis through merger. Her honors include the Rank Prize in Nutrition (1986), election to the National Academy of Sciences (1985), the David Gotlieb Medal (1986), the Hendricks Medal (1987), and election to the American Academy of arts and Sciences (1993). She was awarded the degree of Doctor Honoris Causa by the University of Louvain in 1983. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology (1994) and has served on the North Carolina Board of Science and Technology since 1986. Her current research is directed to improving the technology for introducing new genes into crop plants.

Daryl E.Chubin is senior policy officer in the National Science Board Office of the National Science Foundation (NSF) in Arlington, Virginia. While at NSF, he has also served as director of the Research, Evaluation, and Communication Division. In 1997, he was on detail as assistant director for social and behavioral sciences and education at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. Dr. Chubin’s professional interests have focused on the social and

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement