Click for next page ( R9

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page R8
INSTITUTE OF MEDICINE Frederick C. Robbins President Division of Health Sciences Policy Enriqueta C. Bond, Director Staff Alton Hodges, Project Director and Senior Scholar-in-Residence Clifford Goodman, National Research Council Fellow Linda DePugh, Administrative Secretary Talitha Shipp, Secretary With collaboration and assistance of the Director of the Division of Health Care Services, Karl Yordy. . . . V111