Waste Management. He received his B.S. in chemistry from Loyola University, New Orleans, his Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Texas, Austin, and has honorary degrees from Chalmers University, Goteborg, Sweden, and from Loyola University, New Orleans.

JOHN BERCAW is the Centennial Professor of Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology. Dr. Bercaw is an expert in organometallic chemistry. His research interests include synthetic, structural, and mechanistic organotransition metal chemistry, compounds of early transition metals, and hydroxylation of alkanes by simple platinum halides in aqueous solutions. Dr. Bercaw is a former chair and Executive Committee member of the American Chemical Society's Inorganic Chemistry division. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. His work has been recognized with the American Chemical Society' s Award in Pure Chemistry, the Award in Organometallic Chemistry, the Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry, and the George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry. Dr. Bercaw earned his B.S. in Chemistry from North Carolina State University and his Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Michigan. Dr. Bercaw was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1990.

DARYLE H. BUSCH is the Roy A. Roberts Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at the University of Kansas. Previously, he was a faculty member at The Ohio State University where he rose through the ranks from assistant professor (1954) to Presidential Professor (1987). His research in basic transition metal coordination chemistry fathered modern macrocyclic ligand chemistry and created the molecular template effect. He was among the founders of the subject of ligand reactions and an early researcher and proponent of bioinorganic chemistry. He first described the phenomenon called preorganization in 1970. His research is presently focused on homogeneous catalysis, bioinorganic chemistry, and orderly molecular entanglements. Throughout his research career, Dr. Busch has worked closely with industry and holds patents with five major industrial companies. Some of the recognitions of Dr. Busch's work include the American Chemical Society Award for Distinguished Service in Inorganic Chemistry and for Research in Inorganic Chemistry, the John C. Bailar Medal from the University of Illinois, the Dwyer Medal of The Royal Society of New South Wales, Australia, and the Izatt-Christenson International Award for Macrocyclic Chemistry. Dr. Busch has written three textbooks, and numerous book chapters, articles, and reviews. His teaching has been recognized by the University of Kansas' Louis Byrd Graduate Educator Award. He is the President of the American Chemical Society. Dr. Busch received his B.A. from Southern Illinois University and his M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of Illinois.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement