Cover Image


View/Hide Left Panel

sioned research provides empirical support for the recommendations and findings. However, as noted below, responsibility for the recommendations rests with the Steering Committee and not with the individual researchers.

A number of individuals deserve recognition for their contributions to the preparation of this report and for their willingness to serve as reviewers. On behalf of the STEP Board we would like to express special recognition to Jon Baron and Robert L. Neal Jr. of the Department of Defense. Their interest and commitment to an objective assessment of the Fast Track was crucial to the success of the project. Similarly, special recognition is due to Peter Cahill of BRTRC, Inc., and Albert N. Link of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro for their many valuable insights and contributions. Among the STEP staff, special recognition goes to John B. Horrigan for his contributions to the development of the research plan, his independent analysis of the project results, and preparation of this volume, both initial drafts and in review. Recognition and thanks are also due to Laura T. Holliday for her many contributions to the organization of the 5 May 1999 conference. Subsequently, McAlister T. Clabaugh and David E. Dierksheide played an instrumental role in editing and preparing the report for publication. Without their collective energy and commitment this project could not have been completed.

This report has been reviewed in draft form by individuals chosen for their diverse perspectives and technical expertise, in accordance with procedures approved by the NRC’ s Report Review Committee. The purpose of this independent review is to provide candid and critical comments that will assist the institution in making the published report as sound as possible and to ensure that the report meets institutional standards for objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the study charge. The review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the deliberative process. We wish to thank the following individuals for their participation in the review process: Dr. James Adams, University of Florida; Dr. William L. Baldwin, Dartmouth College; Dr. Kathryn Combs, University of St. Thomas; Dr. Lance Davis, National Academy of Engineering; Dr. Gerald Dinneen, National Academy of Engineering, Dr. Jeffrey Hart, Indiana University; Dr. Michael Luger, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Dr. Paula Stephan, Georgia State University; and Dr. Cherisa Yarkin, University of California at Berkeley. Although these individuals have provided constructive comments and suggestions, responsibility for the final content of this report and its recommendations and findings rests with the Steering Committee, listed above, and the National Research Council Board on Science, Technology, and Economic Policy.

Charles W. Wessner

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement