Science and Creationism


This report has been reviewed by individuals chosen for their diverse perspectives and technical expertise, in accordance with procedures approved by the National Research Council's Report Review Committee. The purpose of the independent review is to provide candid and critical comments that will assist the authors and the National Academy of Sciences in making their published report as sound as possible and to ensure that the report meets institutional standards for objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the study charge. The contents of the review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the deliberative process. We wish to thank the following individuals for their participation in the review of this report:

John Baldeschwieler
J. Stanley Johnson Professor and
Professor of Chemistry
Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, California

John E. Dowling
Maria Moors Cabot Professor
of Natural Science
The Biological Laboratories
Harvard University
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Marye Anne Fox
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, North Carolina

Wilford Gardner
Dean Emeritus
College of Natural Resources
University of California
Berkeley, California

Timothy Goldsmith
Professor of Biology
Department of Molecular, Cellular, and
Developmental Biology
Yale University
New Haven, Connecticut

Avram Goldstein
Professor of Pharmacology, Emeritus
Stanford University
Stanford, California

Ursula Goodenough
Department of Biology
Washington University
Saint Louis, Missouri

Robert Griffiths
Professor of Physics
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Norman Horowitz
Professor Emeritus
Division of Biology
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, California

Susan Kidwell
Department of Geophysical Sciences
University of Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

David Pilbeam
Henry Ford II Professor of Social Sciences
Peabody Museum
Harvard University
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Luis Sequeira
J.C. Walker Professor Emeritus
Department of Plant Pathology
University of Wisconsin
Madison, Wisconsin

Phillip Tobias
Professor Emeritus
Department of Anatomical Sciences
University of Witwatersrand
Medical School
Johannesburg, Republic of South Africa

And other anonymous reviews.

While the individuals listed above have provided many constructive comments and suggestions, responsibility for the final content of this report rests solely with the authoring committee and the National Academy of Sciences.


Previous Table of Contents Next