one involves the hydrology, hydrochemistry, and remote sensing of mountainous drainage basins; the other is in the integration of environmental science and remote sensing with computer science and technology. He was the senior project scientist for NASA’s Earth Observing System when the configuration for the system was established. He also helped found the MEDEA group, which investigated the use of classified data for environmental research, monitoring, and assessment. Dr. Dozier has chaired or served on numerous NRC committees concerned with data and computational sciences, and he is the current chair of the Committee on Geophysical and Environmental Data. He is a fellow of the American Geophysical Union, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the UK’s National Institute for Environmental eScience. He is also an honorary professor of the Academia Sinica and a recipient of the NASA/Department of Interior William T. Pecora Award and the NASA Public Service Medal.

James R. Fleming is professor of science, technology and society at Colby College. His research interests include the history of the geophysical sciences, especially meteorology, climatology, and oceanography. Professor Fleming earned a B.S. in astronomy from Pennsylvania State University, an M.S. in atmospheric science from Colorado State University, and an M.A. and a Ph.D. in the history of science from Princeton University. He is founder of the International Commission on History of Meteorology and editor of its journal, History of Meteorology. In 2003 Professor Fleming was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) “for pioneering studies on the history of meteorology and climate change and for the advancement of historical work within meteorological societies.” He was also awarded the Ritter Memorial Fellowship at Scripps Institution of Oceanography. In 2005-2006 Professor Fleming held the Charles A. Lindberg Chair in Aerospace History at the Smithsonian’s National Air and Space Museum and in 2006-2007 he was awarded the Roger Revelle Fellowship in Global Stewardship from the AAAS.

John C. Gille is a researcher at the National Center for Atmospheric Research and the University of Colorado, studying chemical processes and their impact on climate and air quality. He applies his training as a physicist to the development and use of remote sensing instruments to study the chemical composition, dynamics, and transport of trace species in the troposphere and middle atmosphere. At present he serves as the U.S. principal investigator for MOPITT, an instrument flying aboard NASA’s Terra spacecraft that measures the global distributions of carbon monoxide in the troposphere. Dr. Gille is also the U.S. principal investigator for the High Resolution Dynamics Limb Sounder (HIRDLS), an instrument on NASA’s Aura satellite that scientists use to study the ozone layer, climate change, and more. He was previously the principal investigator for the LRIR that flew on Nimbus 6 and LIMS on Nimbus 7 and was a collaborative investigator on the Cryogenic Limb Array Etalon Spectrometer (CLAES) on the Upper Atmosphere Research Satellite. He is a fellow of the American Geophysical Union and the American Meteorological Society. Dr. Gille has served on two previous committees for the NRC, the Committee on Data Management and Computation and the Committee on Earth Studies.

Dennis L. Hartmann joined the faculty of the University of Washington in 1977 and is currently professor and chair of the Department of Atmospheric Sciences, adjunct professor of the Quaternary Research Center, senior fellow of the Joint Institute for the Study of the Atmosphere and Ocean, and a former member of the Board of Directors of the Program in Climate Change. Dr. Hartmann received his Ph.D. in geophysical fluid dynamics from Princeton University in 1975. Dr. Hartmann has published more than a hundred articles in referred scientific journals and published a textbook, Global Physical Climatology, in 1994. His primary areas of expertise are atmospheric dynamics, radiation and remote sensing, and mathematical and statistical techniques for data analysis. He is a fellow of the American Meteorological Society, the American Geophysical Union, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Dr. Hartmann recently chaired a study of climate feedback processes for the National Research Council and is currently a Board on Atmospheric Sciences and Climate board member. He has also served on numerous advisory, editorial, and review boards for the NRC, National Science Foundation, NASA, and NOAA.

Kenneth Jezek is a professor in the Byrd Polar Research Center and the School of Earth Sciences at The Ohio State University. He is the principal investigator of the RADARSAT Antarctic Mapping Project. His research interests include remote sensing studies of sea ice and the polar ice caps, including applications of synthetic aperture radar data to gauge the response of ice sheets to changing climate. Dr. Jezek is a past member of the NRC Committee for Review of the Science Implementation Plan of the NASA Office of Earth Science, the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research, the Committee on Glaciology, and the Panel on Climate Variability and Change.

Stan Kidder is a senior research scientist at the Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere at Colorado State University. Dr. Kidder received his Ph.D. in atmospheric science from Colorado State University in 1979. His research centers on application of satellite data to meteorological problems. He is also studying the blending of products produced from different sensors on different satellites into unified products and the development of new orbits and constellations for future meteorological satellites. Dr. Kidder was the co-lead instructor for the COMET SatMet course and

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement