University Award for Career Achievement on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the founding of that university’s graduate school. Dr. Kirwan received the 2004 National Innovators Award, the highest honor awarded by Minority Access, Inc., recognizing his commitment to diversity and to improving the recruitment and retention of minorities. In 2002, he was elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Kirwan received the Maryland Senate’s First Citizen of Maryland Award in 1998, and on February 15, 2007, he became the 16th recipient of the Maryland House of Delegates Speaker’s Medallion, which recognizes Maryland citizens who have demonstrated exemplary service to the House and to the State of Maryland.

Efraim Armendariz is chair of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin, a position that he has held since 1991. Dr. Armendariz received the BA and MS degrees in mathematics from Texas A&M University in 1960 and 1962, respectively, and received the PhD in mathematics from the University of Nebraska (Lincoln) in 1966. He has published more than 40 research articles in this area, as well as a book on elementary number theory, and has supervised 6 doctoral students in mathematics, 3 in science and mathematics education, and 31 master’s students. Dr. Armendariz has also been actively involved in the development of educational programs that address questions of accessibility, as well as development of secondary mathematics teachers. In 1988, he established the Emerging Scholars Program at the University of Texas at Austin, an intervention program designed to enhance academic success in calculus among students of mathematics and science and engineering who are from traditionally underrepresented groups. He is a member of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA). In this capacity he has served as Level III director (1992-1996), chair of the Texas Section (1996-1997), and arrangements chair and organizer for the annual meeting of the Texas Section in April 2000. He has also served and chaired various national committees, including the MAA Committee on Minority Participation in Mathematics. He is currently a member of the board of governors of the MAA, serving as governor-at-large for minority interests. Dr. Armendariz’s other professional service includes membership and chairing of postdoctoral selection panels for the National Science Foundation and the Ford Foundation, member of the Human Resources Advisory Committee of the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute, and member of the Committee of Visitors for the NSF Division of Mathematical Sciences.

John A. Burns is the Hatcher Professor of Mathematics at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University and the technical director of the Interdisciplinary Center for Applied Mathematics. He has published more than 140 research papers on computational methods for the identification, optimization, and control of systems governed by partial and functional differential equations. He has directed more than 20 PhD students and 10 MS theses. He has served on more than 12 editorial boards, and he was the founding editor of the SIAM [Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics] Activity Book Series on Advances in Design and Control. He has served as vice president of SIAM, is the past chair of the SIAM Group on Systems and Control, and is a fellow of the IEEE. Dr. Burns’s primary interests concern the development of rigorous and practical computational algorithms for the design and optimization of engineering and biological systems. He has applied his research to a wide variety of areas, including fluid dynamics, smart materials, large-space structures, nanodevices, aerodynamic design, and energy-efficient buildings. Dr. Burns has been a consultant and adviser to Booz Allen and Hamilton, NASA Langley Research Center, the Air Force Research Laboratory, the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, the Babcock and Wilcox Company, Solers Inc., and the United Technologies Research Center. He has held several academic visiting positions in the United States and Europe.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement