VAL L. FITCH, Ph.D., is James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Physics, Joseph Henry Laboratories, Princeton University. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in physics in 1980.

MARYE ANNE FOX, Ph.D., is the M. June and J. Virgil Waggoner Regents Chair in Chemistry, University of Texas at Austin. She is an associate editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society and a member of the National Science Board.

PETER GALISON, Ph.D., is co-chairman of the History of Science Program at Stanford University.

BERNARD GERT, Ph.D., is Stone Professor of Intellectual and Moral Philosophy at Dartmouth College.

IRA J. HIRSH, Ph.D., is Mallinckrodt Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Audiology at Washington University in St. Louis, where he was formerly dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. He was also formerly director of research at Central Institute for the Deaf.

JENNY L. McFARLAND, Ph.D., is a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

LAURIE E. McNEIL, Ph.D., is an associate professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

RICHARD A. MESERVE, J.D., Ph.D., is a partner with the firm of Covington and Burling in Washington, D.C. He previously served as legal counsel to the President's Science and Technology Adviser (1977-1981).

FRANK M. RICHTER, Ph.D., is professor and chairman of the Department of Geophysical Sciences, University of Chicago.

ARTHUR H. RUBENSTEIN, M.D., is professor and chairman of the Department of Medicine at the University of Chicago. He chaired the 1989 Institute of Medicine study titled The Responsible Conduct of Research in the Health Sciences and is a member of the IOM council.

HOWARD K. SCHACHMAN, Ph.D., is a professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of California, Berkeley. He was formerly president of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology and of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement